The Martian by Andy Weir | Review!

Hey guys!  I just realized I wrote a bunch of review that I never published on here, so you’ll be seeing some random reviews popping up your feed. Today’s is The Martian! (I gave it five stars–you can check out the Goodreads page here.)

The cover:

18007564

I don’t know if you know, but as much as I complain about school and biology and other crap, I’m a huge nerd. Not only a book nerd. Like anactual science nerd. Even though it’s hard, a lot of times, I love science. I like learning! I may not enjoy school, but I love discovering new things.

And so, I love nerdy books or books with science and math or technology. I can relate to the characters more. Likewise, if a character hates science/math/learning, I can’t connect with them. Obviously, this was not the case for this book.

This book was perfect [for me]. You may not enjoy it as much as I did, if you don’t like science and math. You’ll think it drags. But I loved it. First of all, the humor made up everything. Things that are normallyso boring were suddenly funny. I couldn’t help but laugh or at least smile at myself.

Mark is an amazing protagonist. He’s literally amazing. He’s smart, witty, but at the same time, HILARIOUS. That’s what everyone says about this book, but it’s the truth. This book is hilarious. Mark knows how to fix a problem. He’s a genius. HE’S GOALS OKAY? Like I don’t want to be an astronaut, but if I had 1% of Mark’s genius brain, I’d be rocking my stupid school.

Even though of course I sometimes lost track of all the science going on, because even my nerdy brain can’t keep track of everything, whenever I opened this book again I flew through it. We’re watching the movie as a family tomorrow, and I can’t wait.

Basically, you should read this book. Even if it seems like it’s not that interesting at first, I promise just read the first sentence and you’ll be hooked. I promise. (If you’re not hooked, well. Then maybe. You’re probably an alien who has no sense of humor.)

Now I’m quickly going to talk about the ending; so if you haven’t read it yet don’t read below.

[Besides the humor, my favorite part of the book was how in the end the book ended on such a beautiful note. It tugged at my heart. How Mark connected everything back to humanity and why they saved him. It was so beautiful…it really was. Omg. I never thought this book would make me feel so emotional, but I am right now. Because I think that was the perfect way to end this book.

“The cost for my survival must have been hundreds of millions of dollars. All to save one dorky botanist. Why bother?

Well, okay. I know the answer to that. Part of it might be what I represent: progress, science, and the interplanetary future we’ve dreamed of for centuries. But really, they did it because every human being has a basic instinct to help each other out. It might not seem that way sometimes, but it’s true…”

Seriously. If that doesn’t make you emotional, then I guess you really ARE an alien on Mars who probably went through all that trouble to kill Mark.

Well then. Guess what? IT DIDN’T WORK, YA ALIEN. BECAUSE MARK IS ALIVE AND SAFE AND WONDERFUL AND HAS NOW BECOME MY ROLE MODEL AS A SCIENCE NERD. (hide spoiler)]

Okay, I’ll stop now. I loved this book, and I hope you do too. Also, if I ever get the opportunity to talk to Andy Weir, I am SO asking him how I can become a science nerd author too. Because I WANT TO BECOME A SCIENCE NERD AUTHOR LIKE HIM. :]

8 thoughts on “The Martian by Andy Weir | Review!

  1. Pingback: March: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

  2. I got a free copy of this book and haven’t read it yet – but you just made me want to as I am such a science nerd even though I find it tricky sometimes. Ahh! Im so excited to read this book now!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Reading Wrap-Up of 2016 // Some of My Favorites! | AloofBooks

Leave a comment