Settings I Love/Would Love To Read

Hey guys! I hadn’t done Top Ten Tuesday for such a long time that I really missed it, so although right now TTT is on break, I decided to do an old topic I hadn’t done before. (You can learn more about TTT here.)

Right now I’m not really going to go in any particular order, so whatever pops into my head is what you’ll be reading! Though some of these are historical settings, others aren’t, and I’m not sure if I’ll be able to write a full ten.

1.The first setting that comes to mind is any time period of the Ottoman Empire. This definitely isn’t a common setting at all–the only book I’ve read set here is And I Darken (it was amazing please read it), but everything about it just…intrigues me. Maybe it’s my own bias since I’m Turkish, but I love learning about the harems and the Ottoman courts and sieges and everything.

Image result for istanbul gif

2. Ancient Greece/Rome–Ever since I’ve been a little kid, I’ve always had a love for the classics. Greek mythology is one of my favorite things in the world and I will always love reading about it, so of course this is on here.

Image result for ancient greece

3. Not really a specific time period, but I also like reading books set in England–it’s not really my interest in England but more that I’ve liked books set here. For example: The Infernal Devices and My Lady Jane.

4. Central Europe–I’ve barely really read any books set here, but I’d love to read more! One that comes to mind is Daughter of Smoke and Bone, which is set in Prague (I really hope I’m not classifying this wrong, if so, I’m sorry!), and since I loved that…I also really want to learn more about the cultures of the smaller European countries.

5. Historical fiction novels set during war times–maybe with romance? I know this isn’t really a specific place or time period, but I generally really enjoy stories like this. The angst and drama is (if well done) so emotional and it ends up being a beautiful story. (E.g: Between Shades of Grey and A Thousand Splendid Suns)

6. Any Middle Eastern setting, really. I love all the descriptions of the food and the clothes and mythology/retellings–for example, The Wrath and the Dawn or The Forbidden Wish–both beautifully written and set in similar settings.

Image result for the wrath and the dawn

I found this image online and thought it was cool!

7. Something I don’t think I’ve read any books about is in an Asian setting entirely. (Whether that be East-Asian or South-Asian). I know The Flame In The Mist is set in Japan, so I’m really excited to see how that is, but I’d love to hear your recommendations!

For some reason I can’t think of any more settings right now, but I hope you enjoyed reading this blog post! I’d really appreciate it if you have any recommendations and would love to check those books out, so please let me know. 🙂

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

5 thoughts on “Settings I Love/Would Love To Read

    • For war fiction I know of Wolf by Wolf, Atonement, the Complete Maus, and conspiracy of blood and smoke. I’ve only read Atonement, but I enjoyed it! It has a movie, too.

      This one’s adult fiction so I don’t know if it’s your taste, but I’ll recommend it anyway. Johnny got his gun is about a man who gets his limbs and face blasted off in war and it’s so powerful and disturbing I paused it and haven’t reread it yet.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

