Humor In Books

Hi everyone! One thing I’ve often realized while reading is that…there’s no humor. A lot of times, in books, characters are so busy trying to save their lives that there’s nothing to laugh at–which makes sense, given the circumstances. But I love humor in books, and I wanted to discuss this topic with you guys today. (Also give some short recommendations.)

I guess you can kind of categorize humor–a type of humor that I think is most common in YA fantasy is dry humor, or sarcasm. Some books I love that use this are Six of Crows and all of Cassie Clare’s books–

Image result for six of crows

I LOVE this type of humor. It’s the kind that I usually think of after because the characters are making fun of each other or something along those lines.

Another type of humor I like is dependent on the writing and makes the book easier to read because the entire style is different. I know that doesn’t make sense, but anyone who has read My Lady Jane will probably understand what I’m talking about.

Image result for my lady jane

It’s just! So cute! Not every book can be like this, obviously, but it’s entertaining nonetheless. Another book that reminds me of this style is The Martian by Andy Weir.

Image result for the martian by andy weir

And of course, you can’t forget Percy Jackson–Rick’s books are a classic for humor. I don’t want to say it’s just the age group, because it’s not, but most YA books I’ve read are not nearly as funny as Percy Jackson. :’))

What are some of your favorite humorous books? Tell me about them!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

One thought on “Humor In Books

Leave a Reply

