Reading Slowly: A Discussion

Hi everyone! Today I wanted to talk about something that is super relevant to me: reading slowly. Or actually, not being able to read. I like to think I’m a pretty fast reader. I used to be able to get through 10 books a month, and I can finish a book in a sitting or two. But that’s not the problem.

No, the problem for me is that I can barely finish any books anymore in a normal time span. It takes me a month or at least a few weeks, because I just can’t bring myself to read when I’m tired.

And I absolutely despise this.

Reading like this takes away from my experience. I read 100 pages one day, then I can’t pick up my book for two weeks, and I’ve lost track of where I was and forgotten what’s going on. Or I’ll stretch out the book so much that I’ll get bored of the characters even if the book itself is good, because I just want to try something new.

My thoughts get diluted when it takes me so long to read, because so many other things are in my head. I like being engrossed in a story completely. I like thinking of it when I’m doing other things, relating it to my everyday life–I like blogging about it. But when I can only read so little over such a long time period, this doesn’t happen. I think about all the other books I want to read, even when I’m enjoying the story.

Anyway, I’ve only read 5 books this whole year and I kind of wanted to talk about it. Are there any other bloggers who feel the same way as I do? I’d love to talk if anyone can relate!

/      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

14 thoughts on “Reading Slowly: A Discussion

  1. I think that maybe, you’re in a slump. If you want to get out of it, maybe go back to a book that you loved, and is light and fluffy, which could just get you back into the mindset you had before. I always do this when I think a slump is arriving and it generally works for me!
    I hope that you can get reading at your normal pace again soon,
    Lu

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely get into slumps like this sometimes and it’s the worst feeling. I’m like you and prefer to read a lot constantly– during the summer I usually read 100 pages a day, like you mention– but sometimes when I come home from working all day I just don’t feel like sitting down and reading for an hour or more. You’re not alone! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh I’m exactly the same! I have two books that I was reading that I’ve neglected because I have felt like there was never enough time to read them and there wasn’t necessarily this driving need to go back to reading them. Eee I must change this and bloody read them because they are good books 😂 but I also think it’s a great idea to go back to reading one of your favourite books to get back on track. I think I’m going to do that! 🙂

    Like

  4. I feel the same way! I know it’s not a slump because I really, really, really want to read but by the time I’m done with school work and chores, I’m too tired to even want to pick up a book! Then I end up not reading my current read for weeks and when I jump back into it, I’m not enthusiastic about it like I was when I started it! It completely sucks, and I totally understand what you’re talking about!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

