Susan Dennard & Jodi Meadows Book Signing!

Hello everyone! As per usual, first off: sorry for not posting for two weeks. I got so caught up in school work, blah blah blah. That aside, yesterday (surprise, surprise!)–on a school night–I actually went out to a book signing! I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to make it but I ended up going and it was the most wonderful experience.

The Authors & Their Books

If you don’t know, Susan Dennard is the author of Truthwitch and the Something Strange and Deadly trilogy. I never actually read SS&D, but last year when I read Truthwitch–don’t know how much I actually talked about it–I LOVED it. It was one of my favorite books of the year, although I think I forgot to review it.

Image result for truthwitch

Image result for susan dennard

Susan Dennard!!

Jodi Meadows is also the author of multiple books, but the book I got signed was My Lady Jane, which she co-wrote with Cynthia Hand and Brodi Ashton. I’m so excited to read it and Jodi was so nice!

Image result for my lady jane

Image result for jodi meadows author

The Event Itself

The event was located in a small indie (but ADORABLE) bookstore called One More Page Books, which I would 20/10 recommend if you live in the D.C. area. The staff was super nice and because there weren’t a lot of people, the event was really casual and fun. Susan and Jodi talked about their books but also a lot about their lives, depending on what questions were asked.

One thing I learned was that Susan is a HUGE science-lover. She gushed about how much she loved science and I thought it was super cool because she is the first person I met that loves both science and creative writing/fiction. (Like me!) I made sure to tell her this later haha.

Meeting The Authors

Because I hadn’t yet read My Lady Jane yet, I just told Jodi how excited I was and I got a picture with her, which I don’t have right now. She was super sweet and gave me some bookmarks and things which I also love.

When I met Susan, I first told her how I related to her because I love STEM and books, too. She asked me what I was doing in STEM right now and I told her I go to a STEM school which she was like, “YEA! Go women in STEM!” and I felt so special. ❤ She then asked me what my name meant and she thought it was cool so she said I might steal your name (she actually took the post it note with my name on it) and use it as a character name. (I really hope she does!)

Then we talked a bit more and I got a picture with Susan as well, plus a pin and a bookmark. So in total, I got three books signed (Truthwitch/Windwitch/My Lady Jane) and this was honestly one of the best signing experiences I’ve ever had. It was so cozy and made me full with happiness. 🙂 I haven’t yet taken photos of the books, but if you all are interested in seeing how the signed copies look, I can update this post and add them!

Anyway, that’s it for this post! I hope you enjoyed reading about my experience. I know I certainly had a great time. 🙂

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

11 thoughts on “Susan Dennard & Jodi Meadows Book Signing!

Leave a Reply

