Unexpected Favorite Books

I’m going to smack myself in the head. (I’m serious). I’ve been telling myself over and over and over again to just sit down and write a blog post. But it’s been two weeks and I”m only getting to it now! Gah. I’m so sorry. I’m trying to get back into reading and blogging more but…it’s the usual story. AKA, school is consuming me.

Anyway, today I decided I would write a post that Melissa over at Rabid Reads suggested: my unexpected favorite books! I may or may not do a part two about this post based on you guys’ feedback about books I did not like, but here we go!

I am generally not that surprised by my favorite books. I tend to pick up books I think I will enjoy, and last year, about 80% of the books I read were from authors I had already read from before. So, I usually know what I’m getting into before reading it. However, there have been of course times where I did not expect to like a book so much but ended up LOVING it, and that’s what I’ll be talking about today!

*Note: these are only my favorite books–so this list won’t be too long although there are other books I was surprised by.*

  • Still one of my favorite books–even though I read it two years ago–is The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. I can’t stress how much I love this book but sadly not many people know about it. When I read it two years ago I just picked it up randomly and at first I thought it was really weird…until I finished it in a couple sittings and realized: Wow. That…was beautiful. This is one of the first books I read where I was shocked by how much I loved it.

18166936

  • Next I have My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga–another book I read about two years ago. I picked it up and read a sentence and thought: This is so good! Little did I know I would finish it in a day, which was unusual for me at the time, and fall in love with it. I would really like to reread it now because it has been so long, but thinking of it still makes me happy and I think I relate to it even more now. (Deals with heavy topics like depression)

18336965

  • Then, similar to my story of Ava Lavender, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I bought this book at a library sale and randomly started reading it, only to become totally and completely encapsulated by it. Again, same theme: a beautiful beautiful beautiful book.

14785910

  • And I Darken by Kiersten White has a slightly different story. For this one, I had expectations before going in but I was very skeptical because I didn’t want things to be misrepresented or off. However, because I didn’t expect to like it that much…I think I fell in love with it more. It blew my mind: the story, the characters, the dynamics. All so amazing.

27190613

  • Now, getting closer to some of my more recent reads, A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. I literally only meant to read one page of this book. That’s it! The next thing I knew, I was sitting on my couch on page 50 in like 20 minutes, completely engrossed in the story. (Of course I finished it in a day.) This also blew my mind, in an emotional way–I definitely know why this book is so popular.

128029

  • And last but not least, my last read–which I haven’t talked about on here, but a review is coming: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I had read Yoon’s previous book before it was published and thought it was okay: fun, but not impacting. So I went into this book thinking I would enjoy it but not love it. Wrong. This book was extremely deep, thought-provoking, and went into subjects about race and family and what love actually is. It was so well done. Hopefully, a review will be going up soon!

28763485

And that’s it for this post! I really hope you enjoyed reading it because I’m taking time from my (precious, precious) sleep. I’ve really missed blogging and I can’t wait to write more posts!

What were some books YOU were surprised by? Please let me know!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

22 thoughts on “Unexpected Favorite Books

  1. HI SILANUR. These are all books I’ve been cautious around because I’m not sure I’ll like them…but maybe I’ll end of in love like you! The Night Circus plot sounds whimsical and wonderful, but I’ve heard the pace is slower and BOY HAVE I LOST MY PATIENCE WITH THE WORLD. Thank you for providing us with clever insights!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Sun is Also a Star: Or, This Book is Also a Star | AloofBooks

  3. How often do you read nonfiction?

    I really enjoy it because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Tyler!
      For school, I read a lot of non-fiction (especially biology, chemistry, and history.) However, I generally don’t pick up non-fiction books for fun unless they’re on a topic I’m specifically interested in, like say history. I’ll definitely check out your blog, thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Very much looking forward to reading some of these, it’s always exciting to find new recommendations. I adored The Night Circus. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger and Burial Rites by Hannah Kent both left me feeling .. I didn’t know how to feel 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

