Favorite Books of 2016 (And Other Bookish Trivia!)

Hello everyone! Happy New Year! 2016 is finally over, gosh. I can’t believe its 2017 though. Anyway, I am going to write a post about my year in review with more personal stuff but this post is about: BOOKS! Or rather, the books I read this year, my favorite books, least favorite books, etc.

By the way, this is probably my favorite post to write because I love gushing about all the amazing books I read throughout the year and so I would love it if you guys commented and told me about your favorites/linked your posts! This post is in no particular order except chronologically.

This year, I read 35 books–completing my Reading Challenge of reading 35 books–and I chose my top 8 out of all of them. Six of them are some of my absolute favorites and the other two I love, just a little tiny bit less, so “honorable mentions”. My reading goal for 2017 is also 35 books, since I barely finished that many last year and I know things are going to be crazy this year.

So here it is!

My first favorite read of 2016 was the one and only Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I know this is a favorite for a lot of people, and for a reason. I read it in January and I still think about the characters a year later. I cannot wait to get to Crooked Kingdom because this has an ingenious plot, beautiful characters, and is just all around so damn good. If you haven’t read it yet, I don’t know what you’re doing.

My next favorite book shouldn’t be a surprise to you. And that being…Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. At first, I was a bit apprehensive while going into this. What if I didn’t like it? What if I was let down? After all, Cassie’s books remained my favorites for two years when I read this, and now three years. But I shouldn’t have feared. Lady Midnight was just as amazing as Cassie’s other books, and I fell absolutely in love with it. [Read in March]

Then, we have one that I read on a whim, randomly, because I bought it at a used library book sale. And I’m so happy I did. The writing, the world, the characters, all so beautiful. I wanted to be able to visit The Night Circus so badly, and I still do. Thinking of it makes me happy and I would give anything just to go there for one hour, so thank you to Erin Morgenstern for somehow thinking of and writing this masterpiece.

A month or so after I read The Night Circus, I picked up And I Darken by Kiersten White. Like Lady Midnight, I was apprehensive about this book–actually, even more than LM. The reason is because this book is set in the Ottoman Empire (full with Turks! I’m Turkish-American) and I knew it involved religion and sultans and things that are special for me. I was afraid that they would be misrepresented, but…no. They’re not. And I ended up falling in love with this book too. I was constantly thinking about it, and I love the characters oh-so-much. I also actually met Kiersten and told her how grateful I am for this book. Anyway, please please PLEASE read this if you want something unique and 10/10.

My next favorite was Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. This is one of the books that I’m not obsessed with but I still LOVE. I read Truthwitch randomly, expecting to like it, but then I realized how special it was. Truthwitch probably has the most complex magic system I have EVER read about in any book. The characters are awesome. The romance is just how I like it. Plot twists everywhere. And you know what? It does not get NEARLY as much hype as it should. So: please read it. You won’t regret it!

Next we have another super popular book…Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. I don’t even need to explain this book, do I? I know this series has a lot of problems. And they annoy me. But I still can’t help but love EoS. I had to choose between this book and ACOMAF, so I decided to go with EoS. Anyway, if you want to here me gush about it more, you can just click here. 

One day, I was just sitting and looking at my books, trying to figure out what to read, when I decided to pick up A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. I didn’t really have the intention of devouring it in 24 hours and absolutely loving every second of it. It was one of those books that just…hit me, you know? It was so eye-opening and raw and real and it made me f e e l. Which sometimes doesn’t happen in books because I became desensitized. So yea. ❤

Lastly, the second “honorable mention” book, Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. Similar to my experience with A Thousand Splendid Suns, I decided to start reading it, and then I finished it in 24 hours. Apparently, I’m really good at reading historical fiction novels in a couple sittings. I can’t wait for the movie and I have really high hopes for it that this book set. 🙂

And those were my favorite books of 2016! Although I read so little compared to previous years because of school, the books I read last year were mostly really good. The only book I disliked–not even hated–was Wink Poppy Midnight–which I rated around 2 stars. Out of the other 34 books I read, 10 I rated 5 stars (two that weren’t in this favorites list: ACOMAF and The Wrath and the Dawn, but I still love them), 13 I rated around 4 stars, and 11 I rated around 3 stars.

You can look at all the books I read if you add me on Goodreads!

Goodreads says I read 14,464 pages in 2016, and sadly none of them were debuts. That’s why it’s my goal for 2017 to read at least five debuts. Usually I read much more because I love newly published authors, but I think last year authors I’ve already read from had high priority.

Okay, this post is getting really long so I think it’s time to end it. Talk about your favorite books below! I’d love for some recommendations for the new year! 🙂

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

13 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2016 (And Other Bookish Trivia!)

  1. I love Between Shades of Gray! I didn’t realize it’s going to be a movie, though…
    I haven’t read most of the books on your list, but I’m planning to. Hope I’ll love them as much as you do! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. *tosses hands in the air* THE NIGHT CIRCUS! I read The Night Circus in 2015 and fell in love with it. I’ve been dying to get my hands on more of Erin Morgenstern’s work ever since.. and am still waiting for the announcement of her next book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Susan Dennard & Jodi Meadows Book Signing! |

Leave a Reply

