Heartless by Marissa Meyer | Spoiler-Free Review

Hey everyone! Here’s my review for Heartless by Marissa Meyer, which you can buy here from Amazon and click here for the Goodreads summary. The cover:

Image result for heartless by marissa meyer

This review is spoiler-free so feel free to read all the way through and if you’ve already read it, let’s discuss!


Alright so I have A LOT of emotions on this. First and foremost, I just want to say that I really am satisfied with this book. It gave me what I wanted when I went into it and I was pleased throughout most of it.

The things I liked were:

The World. The setting was my favorite. I’ve always been a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland ever since I was a little kid. I never read all of it at once (which is a shame, but I hope I will soon), but rather snippets of it, and of course I’ve watched the movies. So, going into it, I wanted to feel all the whimsy and the magic and the weirdness that comes with Alice in Wonderland, and I was definitely satisfied. That being said, I do wish I had actually read it fully before coming into this book because there are a LOT of references and it would have added to my enjoyment of the story.

^So, I’d definitely recommend reading Alice in Wonderland and/or Through the Looking Glass because Marissa Meyer writes the story expecting you to catch on. You’re already supposed to know things, which may be annoying at times, but in general it was fine.

The ending. The ending was my favorite part, throughout all of the novel. I won’t say what happened, to keep this spoiler-free, but it definitely made me like the book as a whole much more. I devoured the last 50 pages despite being really tired.

The cleverness. This book was so clever. Despite the fact that I didn’t know ALL the references, I got most of them and the way Marissa Meyer weaved in Alice in Wonderland themes was beautiful. It made the story much more unique, what with the prophecies and riddles and rhymes. My favorite part, however, was how everything fit in the end. Marissa Meyer found a way to make the setup for Alice in Wonderland ready (as this is a prequel story). The madness of Hatta, the evil Queen of Hearts…It’s just so pleasing to have it all FIT.

Now onto the things that bothered me/I felt indifferent too.

One thing that disappointed me was that I didn’t really feel an attachment to any of the characters. Except at the end, when Cath became the new Cath, I didn’t much care because they didn’t touch me so much. The same goes for the romance. Throughout all of the novel, I was waiting for something dreaded to happen so Cath could become “heartless”, which, I suppose is the downside of reading a retelling: I knew how it would end, so I was constantly waiting for it. I can’t say it really affected my enjoyment of the story, because that’s also the part of the story I liked (how it “fit”), but it led me to guess most of the plot twists.

The romance was also a bit…instalovey, but I overlooked that because it was literally stated in the synopsis of this book. All that aside, I really did enjoy this novel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who–

a) loves Alice in Wonderland
b) wants something new, unique, and slightly weird
c) likes seeing how anti-heroes become anti-heroes. (This part was done VERY well.)

4 stars! Oh, and I can’t possibly write this review without…

“Off with their heads!”

Have you read Heartless? What did you think of it? Do you agree with me? Let me know!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

