The Midnight Star | Mini-Review

Hey everyone! I was just looking at the number of blog posts I published this month…and I only published three. I’ll talk more about this in my wrap-up, but needless to say, I’m ashamed of myself because this month I had a lot of breaks. Anyways, here’s a quick review of The Midnight Star by Marie Lu! 🙂

Image result for the midnight star by marie lu

a picture of places marie lu toured, including va where i met her!!

*Note: do not continue reading unless you would like to be spoiled!

“…These are only rumors, of course, and make little more than a story to tell around the fire. But it is told. And thus they live on.”

I’m not crying, you are.

But in all honesty, I’m so sad. This was probably one of the most bittersweet endings to one of my favorite series. The Young Elites trilogy is one of the few YA series I anticipated from start to finish for each book: I was excited for TYE, then TRS, and now this one. This book isn’t perfect—it’s my least favorite out of the three—but damn is it good.

There is something about it, something about the way it’s written that makes it so special for me. It’s different: there are dark characters, but you don’t know a truly dark character unless you’ve read this series. Adelina is…me. She is me if I had the powers, if I didn’t control myself, and I love that about her. She’s so unstable. She’s evil. She enjoys the feeling of being better, of being above, and no one says it, but it is true. We all savor things like that, that doesn’t mean we’re terrible, but we do. She’s jealous and petty and greedy and all the things we all are inside but are too scared to say.

As I said, this book was not perfect.

In fact, for a majority of the book, I wasn’t even enjoying it so much. I was disappointed, either because my expectations were so high, or because I wasn’t reading it at the right time. But then I sat down and read the last 70 pages and…I remembered why I loved this series so much. And how much it impacted me emotionally. How much I felt for Adelina and her relationships with everyone. The ending? The ending was precisely what I was looking for.

[If it had ended happily, I would not be satisfied this right now. In fact, I’m not even giving it five stars because it just wasn’t THAT good. The others were definitely better…but my heart aches thinking about it and it’s sentimental value for me is too much.

I am so happy with the ending. It wasn’t extremely sad, but it was the perfect amount. If Adelina and everyone else came out unscathed, that would be unrealistic considering the circumstances they were in. So I like how she died, and how Violette made a deal and how she came back as a star and met up with Magiano. Oh, that was perfect. I can’t explain how much I adore that. (hide spoiler)]

I just…

I…

I don’t know what to say. The definition of this book for me is: bittersweet. I am for sure going to miss this world and these characters and the craziness of it all. :’)

4 stars. (Though I’m still indecisive, honestly).

Have you read this series? (Or this book?) How did you like it? Do you agree with my opinions? Let’s talk!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

One thought on “The Midnight Star | Mini-Review

  1. Pingback: November 2016: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

