Isla and the Happily Ever After | Mini-Review

Hey everyone! After A MONTH AND A HALF (or more) I finally finished a book! THIS CALLS FOR CELEBRATION! Anyways, here’s a mini-review, as well as the cover for Isla:

Related image

I started this because I had been wanting to read it for two—almost three—years now, and I needed some fluff in my life in the midst of school. Anyway, at first I didn’t really enjoy it and I was super disappointed because I read Stephanie Perkins’ other books before and LOVED them.

Luckily, I pressed on and…I started loving it. Especially towards the middle, it surprised me a lot because I thought it wouldn’t get better. And it made me realize how much I needed some cuteness in my life. Lately, I’ve been drowning in work and negativity, so reading something that had less of that made my whole mood better. Of course, this book still has a bunch of problems, and I did enjoy the other two better.

I thought Isla was annoying, and she was shy, but weirdly so. She kept blurting random things that messed up all her relationships which drove me crazy. I was SO mad at her especially towards the end of the book, but she redeemed herself as her character got better and she realized her mistakes.

I still do think this series is pretty cheesy, but I love it. Sometimes, we just need a little cheese in our lives, something to smile at. And this series definitely provided me with that, so I will miss it. On top of that, I also love, once again, how relatable the characters are. We screw up. Humans just screw up in general. The characters in this series screw up, and although everything else might not be realistic, THAT aspect of the story is.

4 stars: everyone already knows about this series so there’s no point in explaining more, but yea! My reading tastes and criteria have slightly changed which is why this is not a higher rating. (As well as the fact that I didn’t really like the beginning.)

How did you guys like this book, if you’ve read it? Do you agree with me on the “cheese” thing? Thanks for reading!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Isla and the Happily Ever After | Mini-Review

  1. Pingback: November 2016: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

