I Met MARIE LU! Event Thoughts & Summary

Hey everyone! Today I wanted to tell you guys about my experience meeting Marie Lu about two weeks ago. If you didn’t know, Marie Lu has been one of my favorite authors for over two years now. I first read Legend towards the end of 7th grade and now I am in 10th grade, so it’s been a while. However, ever since, I’ve always loved her books and that definitely hasn’t changed.

And so, of course, I’ve always wanted to meet her. In fact, Marie Lu was on my top five list of authors I’d like to meet, and when I found out she would be coming to my local Barnes and Noble’s, I was ecstatic. I immediately notified my best friend who loves Marie Lu even more than I do, and we were SO HYPED.

Although it was a Thursday night, it was packed and there were a lot of people. Marie Lu came and she talked about The Midnight Star a little bit and then took questions. They were giving bottles and bags to people who asked questions, and luckily, I was the third person Marie Lu called on! So now I actually have a signed bottle haha.

The question I asked was, “What can you tell us about future books?” The adorable Marie Lu told us about how she is writing Warcross, which is actually set in the very near future and is about video games!! She told us that she was writing Warcross when she needed a break from the darkness of The Young Elites (which is one of my favorites.) Anyway, after the Q&A we got into the signing and line and after about an hour of waiting…IT WAS MY TURN!

I was so excited that I practically forgot my stuff on her table. I told her about how much I love her books and how much my friend and I wanted to meet her. We took a picture together, and let me tell you guys, Marie Lu is so cute. I think I say this about all authors, but literally: authors are the cutest, most precious people on earth. Finally, right as I was about to leave, a thought randomly popped into my head: what if I asked Marie to sign the cover of my copy of The Midnight Star? So that it would be extra special?

So now I have a copy of TMS signed TWICE, and the cover looks even more beautiful. ❤ Marie Lu also told me that I was the first person who asked her to do something like this, which for me is an HONOR. *cries happy tears*

20161013_235257951_iOS.jpg

marie lu signing some books!

And…that was my wonderful experience meeting her! I still cannot believe entirely that I met her. For over two years her books have been such a big part of my life that I don’t have the words to express my feelings. :’)

That wraps it up for this post! I hope you guys enjoyed reading about my experience 🙂 Any comments? Please let me know! (Also, if you want more pictures of the books and my bottle, just ask!)

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “I Met MARIE LU! Event Thoughts & Summary

Leave a Reply

