Why Were My Expectations So High? Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White Review

Hey guys! Last month I read Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White, so here’s my review! (As the title says, I wish my expectations hadn’t been so high…)

*I tried to insert the cover but it wasn’t working and I’m way too tired to investigate why…sorry!*

3.75 ish stars!

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, but I was ultimately let down by it. Coming into this book, I expected to love it as much as And I Darken, which is one of my favorites. I had also heard that it was really good from a lot of reviewers I trusted so my hopes were really high.

Until about halfway through the novel–which is like only 140 pages–I was really let down. Don’t get me wrong, I never hated it, but I wouldn’t have given it more than 3 stars. I didn’t like reading from Jessa’s POV so much, and nothing happened despite the fact that this book is really short. The romance between Jessa and Finn wasn’t TOO instalovey, considering the fact that this book is really short, but I would have liked a more slow-burning romance with less of Jessa swooning over how attractive Finn’s collarbone is every two seconds.

My main problem for this book, however, was that it wasn’t character driven. Nothing really happened until like 200 pages, and that’s the majority of the novel. I felt like Jessa just WAITED for the villain to do something and THEN she decided she needed to do something about it. I did like Jessa’s character, especially towards the end, but her stubborness was annoying at times. Nonetheless, she wasn’t a terrible character, but definitely not a favorite of mine.

The same goes with all of these characters. Either because the book was too short or the characters were too trope-y for my liking, I don’t know, but none of them really clicked with me, even the villain. I did not fall in love with Finn and didn’t much care what happened to anyone, really.

That being said, the plot does get really interesting in the last 100 pages. There are multiple plot twists that I didn’t see coming, though I did suspect certain things with certain characters. The writing was really easy to get through, despite the fact that I finished this in a long time considering it’s really short. Another aspect I really enjoyed was the politics with the countries because it represented how some things are in our times as well. Oh, and, Jessa is a woman of color, and she struggles through being accepted both as a woman and a person of dark skin, so I thought that was a great addition too. 🙂

Overall, I did enjoy this novel but I thought it could have been better. The last few scenes were really cut short and I think it could have been extended to at least 300 pages. In general, though, I do recommend this if you want a fun fantasy that’s not too confusing and has plot twists.

How did you like Illusions of Fate? Do you agree with me? Let me know!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

One thought on “Why Were My Expectations So High? Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White Review

  1. Pingback: September 2016: My Month in Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

