Finding Time To Read: My Constant Struggle

Hey guys! First off, I’d like to apologize for not posting for a week or so. School has been SO crazy lately and my sophomore year is already a million times more challenging than last year. Plus, now I’m sick and I haven’t been reading much…

Today I wanted to talk about something I bet all of us can feel: finding time to read (or blog, for that matter.) We all have pretty busy lives as book lovers. Most of my time is taken by school and studying, and that’s why I barely read two books a month. I used to be able to read around 10, but when I started high school all of that ended.

Still, two books isn’t that bad. Of course I would like to read more but…there are people who don’t read at ALL. And I make sure to read much more (like 7 books in a month) over the summer which makes up for all of the books I wasn’t able to read. Then, you may ask, how do you even make time to read those two books?

My problem is, I could probably read more. But I like reading when I’m conscious and I understand every word and am able to absorb it. Books I tend to enjoy less I read at the wrong time: maybe I’m tired, or sick, or sleepless. Because I don’t want to read half-assedly, I guess, I only read when I’m active; but that time is less than when I am tired.

That’s why, most of my reading gets done on my morning bus. If I can read 40 pages in a day, that’s a good reading day for me. Yea, it’s not amazing, but hey, at least I’m reading. Last year sometimes I had the energy to read when I came home, but now I rarely do and I don’t think I will. Even if I do have the energy to do something, I usually have to study or do homework so reading is cast aside.

Of course, I have weekends to read more, but even then I usually don’t get over 200 pages in two days because I catch up on my sleep and do homework (it takes like 12+ hours if you were wondering.) Hence the reason why I can only get two books in per month, unless I have days off/holidays.

So, what do YOU guys do when you don’t have time to read? Please share me your tips! I seriously need them haha.

Thanks for reading!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Finding Time To Read: My Constant Struggle

  1. The struggle is real!! It’s so difficult to find the time to read and still be able to finish all the assignments before the deadline. I’ve read only 1 or 2 books since July, but I don’t feel too bad about it. Studies come first 🙂
    Sorry I don’t have any useful tips for you 😦

    Like

  2. I hate not having the time to read! It’s horrible. At the moment I am swamped with homework, plus, I need to do five hours (as instructed by my teacher) of revision for the end of B1 test! It’s hectic! And then, when I do have free time, I like to chill out and do nothing, or go for a run.

    Like

  3. Pingback: September 2016: My Month in Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

