3 Star “Meh” Books & My Problem With Them

Hey everyone! Today I wanted to discuss why I really, really don’t like 3 star books. In fact, even though I enjoy one or two star books less, I would rather read those then 3 star books. I know: you’re wondering, why?

Well let me tell you.

3 star books are disappointments.

Usually, books I rate 3-3.75 stars were books I expected to like much more, so I had hyped them up in my head. And while I do enjoy them, at the end I don’t think they’re worth reading. Which is terrible. While with one/two star books I can hate the books with a passion, the three star books I can’t. They’re just…there. I can’t rant about them, I can’t talk about how terrible they were, I can’t do anything.

It’s like, as a blogger, they have no use and just take up my time.

See, the thing about me is that I am a PASSIONATE reader. I read books with a passion. I love books with a passion. I hate books with a passion. I blog with a passion.

So when a book, usually a three star one, leaves me feeling unsatisfied but not really annoyed enough to rant…I don’t like it. I’d rather I hated it more so I could have ranted about how much I disliked it.

Another thing I hate about these books is that usually, while reading it, I can’t find any real problems with the book. I can’t put my finger on WHAT makes it so that I don’t enjoy it. I just know that it didn’t pull me in like it was supposed to, and it frustrates me. I can’t be like, “the characters were flat, the plot was boring”, etc. Because I DON’T KNOW MYSELF. It makes me feel meh but I don’t know why and it sucks.

That’s why, usually in my three star reviews, I tend to gloss over details because I’m not exactly sure what annoyed me. Or maybe it didn’t even annoy me and that’s the problem: there’s a problem, but it’s not so big so I can’t spot it. IT DRIVES ME NUTS. In the end, all I can say is, I expected much more and it didn’t live up to the hype.

Which I guess means it basically has to do with my previous expectations and not something actually wrong with the book. But there’s nothing I can actually do about that because I like making myself excited about reading something.

And finally, since I rate books on enjoyment and if they leave an impact on me, usually the three star ones leave me with neither.

I neither enjoy it so much to rate it 4 stars or higher, but it also leaves no impact on me, whether that be good or bad. The three star books usually are pointless for my reading experience.

Anyways, I know this was really random, but I hope you guys enjoyed! Now I want to give some books that I rated 3/3.5 stars that left me disappointed:

Of course there are MANY more, but those are some prominent ones that I remember right now.

Do you guys agree with me about this topic? Let me know!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

22 thoughts on “3 Star “Meh” Books & My Problem With Them

  1. I rate 1 to 5 stars. I try to avoid giving out 1 star (authors work so hard), but it has happened. I do not post 3 stars as a negative review. It simply means the book was good, but has room for improvement. I enjoy books I give 3 star ratings. 4 stars are great books, and 5 stars are added to my favorites list. But beauty is in the eye of the beholder, so if that is how your rating system works then no one can really disagree with you. After all, that is why which each implement our own systems 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great post! I don’t think I mind 3-star books as much as you do, but I definitely agree that 1-star or 2-star books get more reaction out of me.

    I wouldn’t say that they take up my time because I enjoy reading them regardless, but for me, they represent a lack of potential to be THE NEXT BEST THING EVER! Like there are often sooo many things I can think of that will make the book 4-star or 5-star material… though often I’m just glad that it’s not worse. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Hey What’s Up Hello!

  4. This post is SO spot on !! 2stars books are frustrating, way more than 1star books because I never know what to say and struggle to review them, and those reviews are usually my shortest because WHAT ARE WORDS? I don’t know what they are or how to form and use them. And as you said, they leave me “meh” and I’m a girl who like to feel things!!

    Anyway, Great post 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I understand your post. 3 star rating books are hard to review because it is just okay. It wasn’t terrible but neither was it great either. Your post has put words in my mouth for the predicament I am in when dealing with books I feel only deserve a 3 star rating

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: September 2016: My Month in Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

  7. I totally understand what you’re saying! If it’s really good, I want to be able to rant about it. If it’s really bad, I want to be able to explain exactly why and rant about it. But three star books really are just meh, and they’re like the nothing of books and reviews and everything else related to them. It’s so odd and annoying!
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

