Books With Creep Factors & Why I Love ‘Em

Hello book nerds! Today I wanted to talk about books with “creep factors” and the reasons I love them, as well as give examples. You all already know I love “dark” books and this definitely is a sub-category, but more specific.

First off, I wanted to separate “slight creepiness” from “horror.” I generally don’t read horror. Not because I wouldn’t, but there aren’t really a lot of YA books that are horror, and they’re at most mysteries with hallucinations. Even those are rare–and those aren’t really horror either.

So what am I talking about, then?

I’m talking about those slightly strange, beautifully written books that aren’t necessarily scary, but definitely give you goosebumps. Usually the atmosphere of these books is dark and not something you’d want to live through. That sense that the character shouldn’t trust anyone, because something’s going on.

A lot of times these books go into supernatural realms–like vampires, ghosts, etc.–but not in a way that is completely fantasy. I mean, of course fantasy books can have a creep factor too but I find that’s rarer. Usually the world is our contemporary, urban world so the book is more “urban fantasy” or bordering magical realism.

For some reason, I crave these types of stories. I love it so much. I love the sense that it gives, that chilling sense without all the blood and gore that comes with actual horror. Most of the time these books are well written, just because you can’t have that sense of creepy without a way with words. The lush, descriptive sentences make it even more realistic and just so alluring. They also, a lot of times, have the best romances with the most sexy characters.

However, sadly, I haven’t read a lot of books like this. I’m going to list ones I have read and enjoyed below, but I really want some more recommendations! So please let me know, as I would greatly appreciate it.

  • The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, by Holly Black–I am actually currently reading this right now (though I will probably have finished it by the time you see this) and it is actually the reason why I am writing this blog post. It definitely has the creep factor I love plus the beautiful writing and romance, too.

12813630

  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik–This is the only book that is not urban fantasy from this list, and it definitely surprised me. I had some problems with this book, though in the end I really enjoyed it–4 stars–and the creepiness and descriptions of the Wood had a lot to do with it. Definitely recommend if you want a really beautifully written creepy high fantasy!

22544764

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater–I can’t write a blog post about creepy books and NOT include this one. This is definitely one of the books that is not exactly creepy and it really is based on your definition of the word. However, it does have a lot of chilling aspects and plus, you should read it anyways. *winks*

17675462

  • The Mara Dyer trilogy is probably the most popular, creepy book series, and for a reason. The main character is unreliable, you don’t know what’s real, there’s a swoon-worthy love interest, and a bunch of plot twists. It may not have had the best ending for a trilogy, and the hype has died down, but its still really good especially if you love this genre. PLUS, Michelle Hodkin is coming out with a new series with Noah and Mara! (I CAN’T WAIT!)

11408650

  • The Archived by Victoria Schwab–like TRC, this is also not exactly scary or anything, but the writing and atmosphere is generally gloomy and I think it fits the category well. 🙂

10929432

  • The Vanishing Game by Kate Kae MyersThe Vanishing Game by Kate Kae Myers–this is the most underrated book I’ve ever read, but its amazing. And it has literally ALL the aspects I listed above. It also has an unreliable character, a swoon-worthy love interest who’s name is also Noah ahah, incredible plot twists, and is a mystery. If you loved Mara Dyer, you WILL LOVE this one. If you ever read it, please tell me as no one knows about this book!

11873007

I hope you liked reading this post! If you have any recommendations, seriously tell me! Do you like reading books like these as much as I do?

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // studygram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

5 thoughts on “Books With Creep Factors & Why I Love ‘Em

  1. I love reading books that have the creep factor too! Though I end up having the weirdest dreams while reading them. I find them so engaging and they keep me guessing which keeps me reading. I especially loved Mara Dyer! I also haven’t read a lot of these types of books – though I spy a few that have been on my TBR for a while. Hopefully I get around to them soon. Great list! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: August: My Month in Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

