Things in Books I NEED More Of

We always talk about our favorite books, or our favorite traits in books, and how we can’t get enough of them. Because honestly, we can’t. When we love something that much, you just always, always want more. But a lot of times, there are very little books like that. What I mean by this is: I LOVE a Genre X. But there are like two books in Genre X, and from those two, I’ve already read one.

That’s why in this post I decided to talk about some of my favorite books and why I wish there were more books like them. (As in, more books in their genres or more books with the same traits, not more books in the same series.)

  • I NEED more YA Magical Realism. Last year, I read The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender on a whim, and I fell absolutely in love with it. Some may argue it doesn’t have a plot, or that it doesn’t make sense, but I disagree. There’s so much in this book. Beautiful writing, heartbreaking ending…I still think about it to this day.

But–there are like NO other magical realism books! Especially in the YA genre! The only other ones I’ve heard about are Bone Gap by Laura Rugby and The Night Circus, which isn’t even YA. I even emailed Leslye Walton asking if she was writing more books, but she said she doesn’t want to say anything about it right now as she likes keeping her books secretive.

  • Then, I know this isn’t very specific, but I NEED more eerie, but beautifully written and kind of creepy but in an awesome way books. Basically, I need more books like The Archived by Victoria Schwab. I know she has other books out–which I need to read–and her new book is coming out (I’m SO excited!) but still. I love love atmospheric books, and a lot of books just don’t have atmosphere. Which sucks. 😦 If you have book recommendations that are similar to The Archived: please tell me!!

  • I also NEED more Middle-Eastern/Asian protagonists and stories. Whether the book be set in those areas or not, I need these types of characters. The only book I can directly think of that has Middle Eastern influences is The Wrath and the Dawn, and that’s a fantasy book. I can easily say that there are only a COUPLE books in the entire YA genre that have Muslim-American characters–and those books aren’t even that good. Why can’t we have a Muslim main character who kicks butt? WHY? Everyone is talking about how diversity is so increasing, but I don’t think so. Either way: I need more Middle Eastern influences in books that DON’T represent those countries in a bad way.

  • I NEED more books with antagonists and morally ambiguous main characters. Aka, books like The Young Elites or Six of Crows. I just find it so much more appealing when the characters are dark–again, it makes the story atmospheric, and just intriguing rather than a perfect character.

17984141

  • Finally, I just NEED funnier books. A lot of times, characters really aren’t funny, and as much as I love fantasy and I understand WHY characters don’t have a sense of humor, it becomes a bit…boring. Besides Percy Jackson I can’t think of a funny fantasy book with humor. Even in contemporary books, characters aren’t that hilarious. The only ones I can think off the top of my head are Mosquitoland, Finding Audrey, and Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl. So yes. More humor please.

…and that’s the end of this post! I hope you enjoyed! Please PLEASE tell me if you have any book recommendations that are similar to these books! I will forever be indebted, haha.

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

7 thoughts on “Things in Books I NEED More Of

  1. Pingback: June: My Month in Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

