Have I Fallen Into A…Slump? (Please Read)

Yes. You heard (saw) it. A slump. And not only ONE slump, but two.

I’m stuck in not only a READING slump, but also a BLOGGING slump, too. I just haven’t felt the regular inspiration to go write up a blog post. Maybe it’s because I haven’t been reading much, so I keep repeating myself over and over again, or maybe it’s because I just don’t know what to blog about. But either way, I’m in a blogging slump and I need to get out of it.

As for my reading slump, well, again I blame school. I still haven’t finished a single book. I started On The Fence over two and a half weeks ago and I read only a fifth of it. I started The Winner’s Kiss over two weeks ago and I’m almost done, but still. I just don’t feel motivated to read either, even though I enjoy them.

This is why I need YOU, yes my lovely followers to help. Lately I’ve been lacking a lot of inspiration. On all of my social media platforms–Instagram and WordPress–I haven’t been getting any feedback at all. Instagram, almost none, even though I have almost 6k followers. That just makes me sad because I spend so much time and effort for what? Nothing. I already took a hiatus, and I don’t want to take one again on there, but I might just have to so I forget about these negative obsessive feelings.

As for my blog, I love my blog and blogging so much. But like Instagram, lately no one has been interacting with me. Are my posts boring now? Does no one enjoy them? I’m actually really sad about this. Please, please, please let me know what you think. I’m open for any advice, including how to get out of both these slumps and be more motivated to post, especially on Instagram.

Thanks,

(Sad) Silanur. πŸ˜₯

14 thoughts on “Have I Fallen Into A…Slump? (Please Read)

  1. Hm… I think maybe you could take a step back and figure out why you blog or post on Instagram? Is it for the approval of others (friends or otherwise) or because you enjoy it?

    There are times when it just takes me a while to get through a book. Not because I’m in a slump but I just get distracted with other things. Sometimes I have to stop and go back to doing some of my other favorite hobbies.

    I don’t know if this helped at all but remember to keep doing things because YOU love them, not because others want you to do it!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think that it is important to take a step back and not push yourself too much. I’m guessing that you begun blogging and instagramming initially for the fun of it, in addition to sharing your love and passion for reading. If you are so busy stressing out about writing something, about getting feedback, about losing inspiration, then what’s the point? Blogging is suppose to be a fun activity, not something that stresses you out!

    We all want recognition for our work, especially when it comes to blogging and instagramming. We spend so much time on them, taking photographs and finding the perfect words to describe our thoughts and opinions, and it becomes annoying when we don’t receive the recognition that we want. But that shouldn’t be what these activities are about. Forget about the amount of followers and go back to the basics: rediscover what made you love blogging and instagram in the first place. That way your love and passion will shine through, and perhaps you’ll get some inspiration again without the added pressure πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Agreed! Do what makes you happy above others for your blog and Instagram, but know that I absolutely adore not only your blog and IG, but you. You are a wonderful human being Silanur, and I love interacting with you! Keep doing you bby! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m just coming out of a double slump myself. It never works out to fight the slump. just accept it, take a break and then come back to it. if you force yourself to blog or read it’s just gunna feel like a chore. If you need ideas of what to blog about, Rachel over at beautyandthebookshelf.com , has something called Get Up Off of That Slump where she basically gives you ideas of what to blog about

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been struggling! Slumps are so, so hard, and fighting them feels impossible at times.

    I can really only echo what other people have already said, but I do have a tidbit to add about people not interacting with you/posts not receiving much engagement. I think the general rule of “do unto others” works well here – if you want people to interact with you, you gotta reach out first. This could be by simply commenting on their posts, asking discussion questions at the end of yours (so people know what to say), etc. It’s scary sometimes, for sure, but it does help.

    I really hope you find a way back to enjoy blogging and reading again soon! We all get a little lost, a little confused sometimes (and I’m speaking generally here), and it’s all totally okay. It’s part of the journey. I’m also here if you want to talk about anything. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I went through a writing slump as well. But 1) I don’t care much about getting a lot followers. Sure, it would be nice, but my audience is pretty specific so I know my BLOG will never go viral 2) I am writing for therapy. Sometimes it just helps to write what you feel, put it out there and see what happens. To me, even one comment on my BLOG is a success! I think that Reg is right as well, if you want a larger audience, commenting on other people’s work is important as well. It’s helped me get some followers (all 14 of them! ) πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: April: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

