[Late] Nova Teen Book Festival!

If you don’t know, last Saturday I went to the Nova Teen Book Festival–I actually volunteered there–and let me tell you, I had the most AMAZING time. For those of you who don’t know, NTBF is a yearly event (this year was the third annual year, last year I went as well) in the Northern Virginia area for TEENS! Its the first event of its kind in the area and the BEST. ❤ (I’m serious. I love it so much.)

NTBF Final New Logo

There were SO many authors at the event, and I met most of them. Since I’m broke I could only buy three of the authors books, but let me talk about them now!

Since I was volunteering there, I had a two-hour shift from 1 to 3 but other than that I could hang out however I wanted. I came at 9:30, when the doors opened, and I immediately purchased three books: A Tyranny of Petticoats, Thicker Than Water, and The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. I had also bought Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch beforehand, so in total I got four books signed!

photo with the books i bought that day + my volunteer shirt!!

I attended two breakout sessions with 5 different authors and listened to them talk and answer questions, then I had to volunteer. Once my volunteering was over I went to Holly Black’s keynote speaking which was amazing!

Now onto the authors I met…

I had already spoken to Kelly Fiore before because I went to her breakout session, but at the signing line I got my copy of her book, Thicker Than Water signed and took a photo. She was SO adorable and sweet and she wrote some extra stuff in my book that I fell in love with!

Then I met Sara Raasch, the author of Snow Like Ashes (which I am still currently reading but loving!) and she was ❤ ❤ <3. She signed my copy of Snow Like Ashes and also a book plate of Ice Like Fire, which I haven’t yet bought. She also said, “I was told to look for you,” and I was SO confused at first. Only later on did I realize–my counselor from school was also at the festival, and I had told her I wanted to meet Sara. And she is friends with Sara, so she told her about me! 😀

my shaky selfie with Sara 😉

After that, I went to Holly Black’s signing line, and even though she had a HUGE line, she still took the time to talk with me. I told her I still haven’t gotten around to reading The Coldest Girl in Coldtown because of school, and she was like, “Aww, me too, I always want to read books but I can’t because of work,” I can’t wait to read TCGIC! ❤

I also got a BUNCH of goodies like signed bookmarks, and even tattoos and stickers that I’ll share sometime in the future!

Finally, I also got my copy of A Tyranny of Petticoats signed by both Lindsay Smith and Jessica Spotswood, even though I haven’t yet read any of their books. I couldn’t take any pictures but ATOP sounds so kickass, I’m so pumped for it!

Even though I couldn’t buy all of the authors’ books, I went around to most of the authors and got my piece of paper signed. (Its like a thick piece of paper that says “NTBF” on it) That way, I also met Lisa Maxwell (who KNEW MY SCHOOL BECAUSE MY COUNSELOR TOLD HER AND I WAS SO BAFFLED AND HAPPY OMG!!!) April Genevieve Tucholke, Tommy Wallach, Julie Murphy, Kathy MacMillan, and more! (I’ll post a photo of that later too, haha) Even though I couldn’t get the opportunity to buy/read their books, they were all super nice and I can’t wait to buy their books as well. 🙂

Summary of the day: The Nova Teen Book Festival was amazing. It’s probably my favorite day of the year so far, and I am already eagerly anticipating next year because I love it so much. Everyone was so nice: the other volunteers, the coordinators, the authors…Even thinking about it makes me so happy. :’)

Have you ever been to an event like this? This was my second time at the NTBF and also my sixth (?) signing! I’m so happy that so many authors come to my area.

I have a question for you guys: would you all be up to reading a post about all of my signed books and how I got them? Because I’ll write a post about it if you want!

–Silanur

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

6 thoughts on “[Late] Nova Teen Book Festival!

  1. Pingback: Focus on Followers + Big Bookish News + Around the Blogosphere | March 2016 | Princessica of Books

  2. Pingback: March: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

