Six of Crows Review & Gush

Hey everyone! So I had already written this review up on my Goodreads, but because I never posted it here and since it’s been (EIGHT!!!) days, I decided to post it here! If you didn’t know, I adored Six of Crows and it’s one of my all time faves now. (So duh, five stars.)

Anyways, the cover:

23437156

And my review!

Okay. I’m going to write this review slowly, like a normal person. I am NOT going to gush about how much I loved this book. (I loved this book. A lot.) I’m going to compare this book to dark chocolate. Which I guess doesn’t sound normal, but it’s the most normal thing I can think of right now. (This review is going to be kind of similar to my review of A Court of Thorns and Roses.

This novel was dark. In fact, I found it as dark as The Young Elites, which is one of my favorites as well. Which is, well, the reason I found this book like dark chocolate. Not everyone likes dark chocolate/dark fantasy. But you know what? I adore dark chocolate. And I adore dark fantasy. I love broken characters. I love dark characters. I love scary characters, unreliable characters, characters that keep secrets from you. That’s what makes those books so great. And that’s what made this book so great.

First of all, Kaz. Kaz Brekker. “Dirtyhands,” he’s known by everyone. They think he’s ruthless, and he is. They say he’s a demon, he’s dirty, he’s scary. He’s the bastard of the Barrel. But you know what made me fall in love with him? Besides his beautifully dark character, he was broken inside, but wicked, too. His backstory was so intriguing, and I wanted to cuddle with his 9-year old self. He’s smart and cunning, and literally had so many tricks up his sleeve. This book was amazing because of him, and even more amazing because of his personality and the plot twists he brought along with his “magic” tricks. FYI, I’m not getting into spoilers. I’ll tell you if I do.

Then there’s Inej. Bronze-skinned, the Wraith, the spider. Inej is perfect for Kaz. But she is also just as perfect of a character on her own. Her backstory is just as intriguing, just as complex. Inej is one of the strongest female characters I’ve read about, and I don’t say that lightly. Both physically and mentally, she’s strong. I really respect her for that, and her unique personality, too.

And…then Nina. I don’t think Nina gets as much recognition as she deserves. I find her just as strong as Inej. She’s also beautiful, as every character of this book is, but I believe she’s much more complex than given credit for. Without spoilers, I’ll just say that I loved her so much more with what she did in the ending. Wow.

Of course, we can’t not talk about Jesper. Sarcastic and funny, I think he was the comic relief of this book. His banter with Wylan was hilarious. And finally, Matthias. At first I thought he was too rough, but his roughness is understandable given where he’s coming from, and I grew to love him as well.

This book is probably the only series besides The Raven Boys where I love all the main characters with all my heart. I mean, I loooove a lot of characters in a lot of books, but I usually don’t love all. Well, in this one I do. And although I didn’t talk about anything besides the characters, of course I loved the plot. It was so intricately written and I was NOT expecting the plot twists. Even though it took me a long time to read this book, it did not lessen my enjoyment. In fact, I felt like I was savoring every page of it. I was never bored.

Leigh Bardugo outdid herself with this book. I enjoyed Shadow and Bone, but this was a million times better. It was written much better, the characters were not shallow at all and more developed, and the plot and plot twists…wow. It was darkly delicious. I wanted to say a million other things, but it’s like everything else is wiped away from my mind because I loved Six of Crows so much. I hope you read it and love it as much as I did.

I now do not know what else to do with my life until Crooked Kingdom comes out. I need it. (view spoiler). Now I see why you guys raved about this book. And unlike a lot of other books, this time you should believe the hype. ❤

Have I convinced you to read this book yet? Please do yourself a favor and go read it. It’s amazing. I promise. Then come back and fangirl with me. 🙂

–Silanur ❤

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

 

7 thoughts on “Six of Crows Review & Gush

  1. Pingback: February: My Month in Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

  2. Pingback: Things in Books I NEED More Of | AloofBooks

  3. Pingback: Reading Wrap-Up of 2016 // Some of My Favorites! | AloofBooks

  4. Pingback: High Fantasy Book Recs That are NOT S.J. Maas Books | AloofBooks

  5. Pingback: Favorite Books of 2016 (And Other Bookish Trivia!) | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

