Jennifer L. Armentrout Books…and why I think I need to break up with them.

A year ago, or maybe even 7-8 months ago, if you asked me my third favorite author after Rick Riordan and Cassandra Clare, I’d say Jennifer L. Armentrout. About a year and a half ago (Summer of 2014), I read Obsidian, the first book in the Lux series, and fell in love with it. Shortly after, I also read Onyx and Opal, the sequels.

I pretty much was swooning over the books: they were fun! I’ll give JLA that. Her books are so, so much fun. Katy is a really relatable character, as a book blogger, and Daemon–hot damn. So it was only normal for me, I suppose, to fall in love with her books. At the end of 2014, I had decided JLA was one of my favorite authors, put Onyx onto my favorites bookshelf, and then the last book of the year I read was White Hot Kiss, the first book in The Dark Elements trilogy. I loved this one even more. Of course I also put it on my favorites list.

I quickly read Stone Cold Touch after WHK, and I also really enjoyed it though I didn’t think it lived up to how much I “loved” WHK. But I was still SO excited for the last book, Every Last Breath.

Then, a few months after, I read Origin and Opposition. They reignited my love for JLA, and I added Origin onto my favorites list too. Now I was really pumped for Every Last Breath, and I was sad that I had finished the Lux series.

But, something happened between the time I finished those books and before the time I was planning to read ELB. My reading taste changed, and significantly, in the span of four or so months.

What I mean by this is that I wasn’t in the mood for quick, angst-y, but no overall message books. I wanted powerful books, emotional books, ones that left an impact on me.

Now I don’t mean to sound offensive, but JLA’s books aren’t exactly like this. I wouldn’t say they’re emotional or moving. They’re fun, as I said, but not the type of book I was looking for. And they’re not exactly “cute” either, so they didn’t fill my need for cute contemporaries.

Before ELB was released, I think I started Don’t Look Back, which is JLA’s mystery/contemporary. I started reading it…but then I just couldn’t. I couldn’t get into the story, which was so unusual because JLA’s books are so addicting. So I kinda…stopped reading it. I never talked about it for this reason, but yea. I didn’t finish it and I don’t think I will. Not because it was bad, just because I don’t read books like that anymore.

So reading Don’t Look Back made me start questioning my love for JLA’s books. Now I didn’t feel inclined to reading ELB, even though it was released. And plus, school was starting in a month and I wanted to read books I actually wanted to read instead of forcing myself.

And then school started in September, and I lost all my time anyways. I only wanted to (and still want to) give priority to books that I KNOW I will like, since I have so little time left. That’s when I started fading away from JLA…and now I question whether or not her books deserve the 5 stars I gave them.

As I said, I’ve been thinking about this for a while now. But I think I’ve finally made a conclusion. I probably won’t read any other JLA books in the future. But I still really enjoyed them when I read them, right? So there’s no point in bashing on them. Because in reality, they’re just like guilty pleasure books. Books you read just for the fun of it.

So I’ll leave the books with the five star ratings I gave them in the first place, but I’ll shelve them on my guilty-pleasures shelf on Goodreads and link this post to my reviews so people understand that I rated them differently.*

*When I mean differently, I just mean that the five stars I give to those books isn’t the same to the five stars I give to my favorite books. I rate “guilty pleasure” books based on my enjoyment of them–not on content or writing. Only my enjoyment, since technically that’s what they’re written for.

Also, I hope to write a post on guilty pleasure books soon so I can explain the difference between the ratings I give them and normal books. I hope that makes sense!

Anyways, I hope this cleared up some confusion I may have caused because I raved about JLA’s books so much before. Obviously, she’s not really one of my favorite authors anymore, but I’m still thankful for them because they gave me enjoyment when I read them. ALSO, please tell me if you read this entire post! And tell me your feelings on her books!

โ€“Silanur โค

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

12 thoughts on “Jennifer L. Armentrout Books…and why I think I need to break up with them.

  1. I actually really love JLA’s booksโ€”she’s one of my favorite authors! Though I totally agree with what you said. They don’t really have an impact on me either. Nevertheless, I enjoy them ๐Ÿ™‚ Lux series is one my favorite series ever! (I still need to read The Dark Elements *hides in a corner* ๐Ÿ™ˆ)
    I recently read Cursed and really enjoyed it! Have you read it? โค

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It seems everyone is in a bookish breakup mood. One of my blogger friends is breaking up with the dystopia genre, another one with YA contemporary romance, and another one with Stephen King. And here you are, breaking up with JLA. I’m trying to figure out if there’s some kind of bookish breakup festival going on here…

    Like

  3. Pingback: January: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

