Insta-Love & Why It Drives Me Crazy

I think about a month (?) ago, Becca over at BeccaAndBooks posted something about Instalove. And that post inspired me to write about a topic I feel strongly about in books: insta-love. (P.S check out her blog! She’s amazing!)

Why I despise insta-love.

Insta-love is unrealistic. Being realistic in books is also something Becca discussed, which I want to talk about later. When you think about it, all books are unrealistic. I mean, they’re fiction. But the thing is, when I’m reading, it can be unrealistic in the sense that there’s fantasy or things that would never happen in real life. However, I don’t want to read about unrealistic cheesy romance and characters.

What I mean by unrealistic love in books is:

  • Girl meets boy.
  • Girl finds boy attractive.
  • Boy finds girl attractive.
  • They kiss or engage in some physical activity.
  • In the span of a few days or even a week or so, they fall in “love”
  • They decide they can’t live without each other.

It just doesn’t click with me. HOW? How does it work? First of all, it’s unrealistic in the sense that both the girl and the boy like each other instantly. I’ve never been in a relationship, but what I do know is that your crush won’t like you back as soon as you like them. (Maybe in the future?? But not directly.) IT JUST DOESN’T WORK THAT WAY!!!

So I hate it when it’s in books.

Another big thing I despise is usually, usually when there’s insta-love, the main character is super weak, and the romance takes over the plot. It’s ESPECIALLY annoying when the book is labeled as fantasy but the entire time our shallow main character is too busy worrying about her love interest.

Do you see what I’m getting at?

I feel like this is way too scattered, but it’s something I feel strongly about and that’s why I can’t write a normal post ๐Ÿ™‚

BUT,ย I’m not saying I hate cheesy romance.ย I ADORE some cheese in books. (Not too much, but enough to make me happy) For example: Kasie West, Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins…I ADORE their books. But I like them because the main characters don’t fall in love with the love interests directly. It still takes time, you know?

**One important note: a year or two ago, I wasn’t this bothered by insta-love. But now it REAALLLLLY annoys me, since my reading tastes have changed and improved. It annoys me so much that it can ruin the whole book for me. That’s why I like slow burning romances, ones that develop throughout the entire book. It sometimes even annoys me a bit when the main character and the love interest have a relationship in a couple weeks. I WANT SLOW ROMANCE, OKAY? I WANT ROMANCE. BUT I DON’T WANT IT TO HAPPEN SO QUICKLY.**

Now let’s talk about some of the worst cases of insta-love that I’ve read about. (These will be listed from worst to slightly-less-worse. So the first ones are TERRIBLE)

  1. The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine

Guys. This book. It had the worst effing possible insta-love in it. I swear. It was SO bad I DNF-ed it. (And I rarely ever DNF books) Basically the two peeps see each other and can’t stop thinking about each other. I didn’t read any further to know what happens, but I’m guessing they “fall in love”. (They were obsessed with each other in the span of 30 pages and they didn’t even know each other’s names)

2. Switched by Amanda Hocking

Well, this is my least favorite book in the world. Yep, I said it. Everything was terrible. And the insta-love just made it even more terrible. GAG. (in the end the main character decides that the guy she met a few days ago is worth her life.)

3. Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Whoops. This is gonna get a lot of hate, but I thought this book was extremely overhyped. I didn’t hate it, but if it was a bit worse I was going to stop reading. (I gave it 3 stars) The only reason why I continued reading was because I wanted to know what happened in the end. Basically, girl moves. She can’t stop thinking about the guy next door. *SPOILER: turns out the guy is her teacher. OH NO, THEY CAN’T LOVE EACH OTHER. The angst.*

4. Ruby Red trilogy by Kerstin Gier

This entire trilogy (or at leas the first two books) is just full with angst and annoying characters. Oh, and there’s insta-love. Our not-so-lovely main character falls in love with Gideon in a week. GAHHHHHH.

5. Half Bad by Sally Green

This was probably my most disappointing book of last year and the insta-love was a big reason. I mean, the whole book was stupid in my opinion. I have a review if you guys would like to see it, but I’m pretty sure the insta-love was driving me crazy.


 

Anyways, that’s why I hate insta-love. However, I would like to quickly say something: sometimes, if the book is well-done, I’m okay with it, also as Becca said. For example: Just One Day by Gayle Forman. It was really good! Another example is how June and Day fall in love (from Legend by Marie Lu) over the course of a few weeks. I mean, that’s kinda unrealistic too. But most of the plot wasn’t the romance so I still enjoyed it when I read it two years ago, and the books got better so it’s one of my favorite trilogies. To be honest I don’t know what I would think of it if I read it now, but I do know that I still love those books. ๐Ÿ™‚

So tell me: do you hate insta-love as much as I do? What were some of the worst cases of insta-love you read about? TELL ME so I stay away from those books!

โ€“Silanur โค

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

7 thoughts on “Insta-Love & Why It Drives Me Crazy

  1. I completely agree with you about instalove being unrealistic. It annoys me to. I’ve only ever read one book where instalove didn’t bother me, and that was because the characters were possessed by souls that had being deeply in love in their previous life. Other than that, it puts me off completely. Like, yeah, okay, you can have those “holy cow he is crazy hot” moments. But I hate it when its like
    “You’re hot.”
    “You’re hot too.”
    *starts kissing/declares undying love for each other”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Awes thanks for the shout out! I love how you talked about all the negatives of insta-love, because i pretty much just talked about the positives and basically OPINIONS ARE AWESOME.
    I totally understand wanting realism in aspects of literature, but romance is TOTALLY not one for me, actually! I love seeing all kinds of romance, even insta-love. I actually don’t think it’s impossible to have your crush like you when you like them. I mean, I don’t mean LOVE or any crazy stuff like that but just an attraction and stuff and general chemistry. I mean, if it were unrealistic blind dates and such would never go anywhere and there have been plenty of happy marriages resulting from them, ya feel?
    I can’t totally understand hating insta-love, but I actually find it really entertaining ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha I guess I see what you meanโ€”I just really hate it tho ๐Ÿ˜‚ (as what this whole post was about) especially in books. I guess I’d have to experience it in real life to actually decide on that ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: January: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

