October: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights

Hello everyone! This week I have two extra days of the weekend, which means I can get to more reading and blogging! Anyways, I wanted to update you with my life right now, since these posts are really fun to write. 🙂 You can read my previous wrap-ups for August and September as well!

______________________________________________________

what’s been happening in my [real] life?

Saying that October was a fun month would be…lying. Why? Because school literally took over my life. I swear. I didn’t have time to do anything but wake up, go to school, do homework, study, then sleep. I only read two books this month because of that reason, which I will get to later. I can’t even enjoy the hype that comes with Halloween! (I haven’t went trick-or-treating yet because at the moment while I’m writing this it is during the day of October 31st.)

Hmm…but I want to think of some positive things to say, and seeing Rick Riordan for the second time at his book event was definitely a plus! I was writing a post about it but it got deleted and I didn’t want to re-write it. But it was such a great experience, since the first time I saw him the event was almost over since I came late. Here are some photos!

Displaying IMG_2569.JPG

me after the event, with my awesome shirt, book, and shield! ❤

Displaying IMG_2556.JPG

blurry photo, but that’s RICK RIORDAN THERE!!!

Like I said, school was an enormous part of my life this month and the first quarter already ended. Unfortunately my grades aren’t that good despite the fact that I spent all my time on school, but I think I will be able to push everything up in the second quarter! Hopefully.

Right now I can’t think so much about things that happened this month because my life was very boring and bleak, but I got an iPhone 6! Finally, a phone that’s not crappy! That’s why I’ve had the opportunity to be very active on my bookstagram. 🙂 Another significant thing that happened was I re-discovered my love for Troye Sivan’s music…Specifically FOOLS. ❤ I LOVE IT SO MUCH GUYS. I CAN’T WAIT FOR BLUE NEIGHBORHOOD PART 3.

Any other Troye fans here?

______________________________________________________

what’s been happening on my blog?

This month…well this month was a blogging failure. I only wrote 5 posts, including this one, and one of them was not even really a post. Here they are, anyways:

I hope you guys check these out, because lately I haven’t had many active followers on here. 😦

______________________________________________________

what about bookish updates/wrap-ups?

October was a reading month fail. I read two books, but I guess they were both worth reading because both were AMAZING. I also acquired 4 books, which isn’t too bad. 🙂 Unless I buy some other books today…which is kind of likely hahahah. Anyways, here are the books I bought:

  • The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan
  • Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi
  • The Rose Society by Marie Lu
  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Then the two books I read:

As I said, I loved both books and hopefully reviews will be coming your way soon! If I had to choose between the two…I don’t know what I would choose. I loved both of them in different ways, and I can’t really compare them because they are two separate books in two completely different genres. 🙂

Although I couldn’t read much, there were a lot of October releases I was looking forward to/read:

  1. The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan (relesased October 6th)
  2. The Rose Society by Marie Lu (released October 6th)
  3. Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman (released October 20th)

There were more but these are my top most anticipated ones!

______________________________________________________

october highlights

Best part of my month? Probably Rick Riordan’s event, as this was a mediocre month. And getting a new phone!

Wow, that’s a really short “Highlight” of the month. But, what were your highlights of October? Did you/are you going to go trick-or-treating? I’m sure after I go it would make it onto this list, but there’s still a few hours left for it!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

some other posts:

~ Fall-ish Books To Read

~ Bath and Body Works Book Tag

~ The Young Elites by Marie Lu | Review & Discussion

8 thoughts on “October: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights

  1. I didn’t go trick-or-treating. I’m 24 so I think that would be inappropriate haha. Instead I went to a hockey game, then out to dinner and came home to watch some scary movies.

    Hopefully you get a break from school soon!

    Here is my The Sunday Post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t go trick or treating but I waited at home for trick or treaters and was handing out candy but we literally got ONE trick or treater. I was so pumped to hand out candy too. My biggest highlight of the month has got to be getting my N on my birthday! 🙂

    I hope school gets easier for you soon!<3

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good Luck bringing your grades up! I’m sure you’ll do fine. The pictures didn’t load on my end so I wasn’t able to see them. Are they on your instagram so I can go see them? Anyway, I took my kids trick-or-treating they had a lot of fun. October was a mediocre month for me, I was in a really bad reading and blogging slump. Hopefully November is better for the both of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: November: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

  5. Pingback: March: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

