September: My Month in Review | Wrap-up & Highlights

Hey guys! Gah, it feels like I haven’t been blogging in forever. And it kind of has been forever–I haven’t posted anything new in six days–and I haven’t pre-written anything either. This is do to many reasons, one of them being school and the other being that I just didn’t feel very inspired this month. Anyways, I’ll get into that later.

______________________________________________________

what’s been happening in my [real] life?

School started. And basically ruined everything. Just kidding. But seriously–although it didn’t ruin everything, it made me terribly stressed and I still am stressed. I know a lot of people are older than me on the internet, but I’m just starting high school. And the high school I’m going to at the moment is a math and science based, rigorous school. Not only that, but I didn’t know anyone when I started and I was so stressed.

Let’s be honest here. Real talk.

I cried almost everyday when I came home from school. I know it’s totally normal, but I feel like I don’t belong at my new school. I’m not close to anyone, really, I’m one of the only ones wearing a headscarf in the entire school, and I just feel stupid. Guys, when I’m saying “math and science” high school, I’m talking about one of the top high schools in the US. I’m really not saying it to brag, but it’s the truth. Apparently it’s like college. So I’ve been under so much stress, so much homework and tests and studying that I’m not used to–I just didn’t have the time to read or to blog. 😦 I hope the school year improves because right now I’m feeling very unmotivated and basically just…sad. Sad about everything.

me to school; although it barely just began

Everyone seems so much smarter than me. They know everything. EVERYTHING. I feel so dumb, like I don’t belong here although I worked my way into the school through the tests and admissions process. So I apologize if I’m always complaining about this on the internet, but I really don’t feel good at the moment. Thanks for understanding. ❀

~

Besides being depressed at my new school, it was my birthday! I turned 14 on the 21st! Unfortunately, my birthday was really crappy (because of: school) that I won’t get into that. It was also Eid a few days later, so {late} Eid Mubarak to all of my muslim followers! πŸ™‚

______________________________________________________

what’s been happening on my blog?

This month, I finally decided to change my blog theme to something else, if you haven’t realized. I actually wrote a blog post about it, which will be linked down below. I also wrote 12 posts this month, 13 including this one, which I suppose is a lot because school just started. However, I don’t think I will continue with writing this many posts because most of these were pre-written when I had the time, but sadly I don’t have the time anymore. My goal for October is to post around 6-7 times.

Here are all of the posts of September:

My favorite post I’ve written this month is probably “A Book Nerd’s Nightmare: I Don’t Have Queen of Shadows!” just because I thought it was a lot of fun to write. πŸ™‚

______________________________________________________

what about bookish updates/wrap-ups?

This month, in total, I got 9 books. Hopefully I’ll write a post about my book haul for September soon, so I won’t be talking about the books I got. Sadly, I only read…3 books this month, which is my all time low for the year. Actually, I’m not that surprised of this number because I knew I would barely get any reading done at my new school. I’m also suffering from a terrible reading slump–I just don’t feel like reading. Or maybe its not a reading slump but just because I don’t have the time. :/

The three books I read were:

  1. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas (4.5 stars) review is here
  2. The Young Elites by Marie Lu (5 stars–new favorite!) review is here
  3. An Astronaut’s Guide To Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield (4 stars)

My third read was for school, but I actually ended up liking it, though I wouldn’t read it for fun. Although I only read three books, my favorite of them was definitely The Young Elites, which is now a new favorite of mine. ❀

These were the September releases I was looking forward to reading/have already read:

  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
  • Sweet Temptation by Wendy Higgins (which I hope to read soon!)
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo–I’ll hopefully be reading this after I finish the Grisha trilogy!

______________________________________________________

september highlights

Obviously, like I said, this month wasn’t the greatest for me. But some of my favorite moments of the month was when I met up with my best best best friend Ecenur to watch The Scorch Trials the day before my birthday. (She actually bought me a book I really wanted!) ❀ Another highlight for me was definitely when I got my bookish box from Leah, who sent me a bunch of goodies. I was so excited for that! πŸ™‚

As for my favorite book of the month, like I said, that has to be The Young Elites. I just love it so much, and I can’t wait for The Rose Society! πŸ™‚

what were YOUR favorites of this month? please let me know!! also tell me some good tips for school, because  i need them! 

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

some other posts:

~ The Young Elites by Marie Lu | Review & Discussion

~ Real Neat Blog Award

~ The Library Lovers Book Tag

8 thoughts on “September: My Month in Review | Wrap-up & Highlights

  1. Pingback: Bath And Body Works Book Tag! | AloofBooks

  2. Pingback: October: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

  3. Pingback: November: My Month In Review | Wrap-Up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

