Reading When You’re Sick: A Discussion

*sniffs* *coughs* *sneezes* *finally clears throat* Hey guys! So I decided to write this post today…because, well, I currently have a really bad cold. It started off with my throat, then my nose started running, my head started hurting, and now I’m coughing. Which basically means that I’m not really okay right now, although I’m writing this because I have nothing else to do.

I have been wanting to talk about this topic for a while now, because I personally don’t like reading when I’m sick. The reason is because usually when I’m sick, my brain works much slower and I can’t process what I’m reading. For example, if I normally read, enjoy, and comprehend one page in 45 seconds, when I’m sick, it takes me twice as longer and I don’t even enjoy it as much, let alone comprehend it.

Which really sucks, because when you’re sick you usually don’t have much else to do.

And it really, really sucks when a book release you’ve been looking forward to came out the day you got sick…because that happened to me. Queen of Shadows came out a few days ago, and I’m only on page 100 and I have to put it down (for now) because of my cold. It’s not my because I’m not enjoying it–not at all–but because:

a) My brain doesn’t understand what I’m reading; especially since QoS is really complicated and has a lot of characters

b) I can’t enjoy it as much as I want to because I don’t understand.

So don’t worry, I’ll still be continuing on with QoS (duh) but a few days later when I feel much better. Hopefully I’ll get better by then!

Something else I want to discuss is that I think I’m a “blind reader.” Even normally, I don’t predict what is going to happen until it happens and especially if it is a complex book, I really need to be paying attention. That’s why I sometimes feel really stupid, because for me the Throne of Glass series is really complicated and sometimes I don’t even get what I’m reading. (Though I do love it.) And you can imagine how less I understand when I’m sick. Which is another reason I’m putting QoS down for a few days.

Please let me know, as I feel really dumb–is Throne of Glass complicated for you? Do you need to read carefully? Because as much as I love it, I do sometimes find it really complex. (And I don’t understand how people can read QoS in a day or two.) Also: can you read when you’re sick? Let me know!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // tumblr // questions? contact me: aloofbooks@gmail.com

some other posts:

~ I changed my blog theme!

~ Books I Hope To Read in September

~ August: My Month in Review

11 thoughts on “Reading When You’re Sick: A Discussion

  1. I hope you get well soon, lovely! <33
    And yes, even I found ToG a really complex book, and I had to pay attention to every detail in it. I've just read the first book, and I'm looking forward to finishing the whole series! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Get well soon dear!! ❤
    I think with the ToG series, small details are really important because they come up again later in the book. I find myself highlighting and bookmarking a lot more when I read these books compared to other books. Don't feel dumb! People just process things at different speeds and some things aren't as important to other readers. I like to keep track of all the little things haha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Don’t worry, you’re not alone! When I’m sick, I’m more inclined to watch tv shows or movies because it’s easier for me to process than words. Get well soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Books I Should Talk About More On Here! | AloofBooks

  5. Pingback: The Best Mail EVER: A Bookish Box! | AloofBooks

  6. Pingback: September: My Month in Review | Wrap-up & Highlights | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

