Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | Spoiler-free ARC Review!

**Thank you so much to NetGalley for providing an e-ARC of this book. It really means so much to me!**

Everything, Everything is the debut novel of Nicola Yoon that will be published September 1st, 2015. You can pre-order this book here from Amazon and see more details about it here on Goodreads! This review will be spoiler-free, so you can read all of it without worrying!

Before I begin, let us just appreciate the beauty of this cover! The book is worth buying just so you can stare at the gorgeousness of it:

Some quick information you might want to know about this book–

  • Publication date? September 1st, 2015.
  • Publisher? Delacorte Books for Young Readers
  • Page count? 320 pages (Hardcover format)
  • Standalone or series? Standalone.
  • Rating? 4 out of 5 stars! You can see my rating scale here.
  • You can go to the author’s website here!

If you haven’t heard about this book until now, I’m honestly surprised. It has been getting many positive ARC reviews, and I’m happy to say that I agree with these glowing reviews.

» Summary

As a summary, Everything, Everything is about a girl, Madeline, who has a really rare disease where she is allergic to everything. (Hence the title) Her disease is so dangerous that she has not stepped out of her house because she will die. The only people she knows are her mother and her nurse, Carla.

Of course, one day all of this changes. A new family moves next door, and Madeline begins to watch this family. Among them is a boy who intrigues her, Olly. As the days pass, Olly sees her and they begin to communicate online and so the story unfolds. Obviously, this is a romance book–that’s the genre I would put it in. Its about the story of Madeline and Olly falling in love and trying to make their relationship work out while dealing with Maddeline’s situation.

That’s it for my summary, since if I give too much, it will kind of spoil the book. If you are looking for a cute, quick read I would highly recommend this book! Now onto the things I enjoyed and didn’t enjoy!

» My Thoughts

First of all, I would just like to say that this was such a unique contemporary read. I’m not only talking about how the main character has a really rare disease–which IS unique–but other things, too. The main character is half African-American AND half-Asian (please correct me if I am wrong) which I thought was really interesting to read about. The book is also not only told like a normal story; there were text messages, illustrations, which made it a very quick read. There are not many characters, since the story is mostly about Madeline and Olly, but they were all very intriguing and made the story fun to read.

Speaking of characters, a huge reason I enjoyed reading this book was because Madeline’s POV. She was quirky and sarcastic, and she was a BOOK LOVER. She and Olly were always discussing books which I really appreciated. Despite the fact that she had a rare disease and couldn’t get out of her house, she was relatable.

» The Romance: what I liked and what I didn’t like

This book is obviously a YA contemporary romance. That’s what the genre is. So that’s what most of the book is composed of: Olly and Madeline’s relationship. I found, that, at the end they were super cute, and I really loved how they were together. However, the only thing I did not like about the romance, and about the entire book, was probably how quickly their relationship escalated.

Don’t get me wrong; it wasn’t instalove. Or, I wouldn’t consider it instalove. But at times, their relationship felt unnatural. I thought that Madeline fell too quickly in love with Olly. Of course, this is kind of explainable in Maddie’s case because Olly was the first boy she ever met–its kind of normal for her, though I would have appreciated the book much more if their relationship developed slower. I also thought that they took some things further a bit too easily, though that’s all I will say to avoid spoilers.

» Overall Opinion

The only reason why I didn’t give this book more than four stars is because of how quickly Olly and Madeline’s relationship escalated, and also because it doesn’t really linger with me. It didn’t affect my emotions in a heavy way, which makes me enjoy contemporary books the most.

In general, though, this was a super cute and unique book that I highly recommend. Not only was the book easy to read but there was also a pretty big plot twist that I enjoyed (though at first I thought it was a bit cheap; but I won’t get into that–you read it yourself.) I would recommend it if you like:

I would recommend it if you like: Things We Know by Heart // The Distance Between Us// My Life Next Door

6 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | Spoiler-free ARC Review!

  1. Pingback: Mini-Review of The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey! | AloofBooks

  2. Pingback: I Changed My Blog Theme! | AloofBooks

  3. Pingback: Real Neat Blog Award! | AloofBooks

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Debut Authors Whose Sophomore Novels To Look Forward To | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

