The Reader Problems Book Tag!

Hey guys! I was nominated months–yes, literally months ago–to do the “Reader Problems Tag” by Pavi over at For The Love Of Fictional Worlds, so thank you so much! I feel so bad for not doing it until before now, but I never got around to it. You can look at her post here!

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I know a lot of people follow their monthly TBR lists, and though I do make TBR piles for each month, I’m very much a mood reader. So whatever book I feel like reading, that’s what I read! 🙂

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

This really depends on the book I am reading. I don’t usually DNF (do not finish) books–I try to push through it so that I can at least add it on my Goodreads “read” shelf. If everyone seems to love the book, or people say that it gets better by the end, I will most likely finish it, even if I hate it. (I did this with Switched and If I Stay) BUT if the book is just soooo boring and I don’t feel like wasting my time on it, then I will DNF it.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your GoodReads challenge. Do you quit or commit?

I’ve never not completed my Goodreads challenge (I’ve only been doing it for two years now) but this, yet again, depends on the amount of books left. If I have too many (for example, more than 10-20) then I will quit, because I know I won’t be able to finish it anyway. If I only have a couple of books left, then I will try to boost the number up as much as I can. Anyways, my ultimate goal is to be able to push myself as much as I can. Luckily, this year I only have a few books left on my reading challenge of 75 books!

4. The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

Okay, let’s face it. I don’t. And anyways, I don’t go around buying entire series all of the time, so when I buy books, I make sure its the perfect one and I almost always get them to match. (But not paperback/hardcovers. I’m too poor for that haha)

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I talk to everyone that’s around me about book(s) I don’t like. When I mean everyone, I mean everyone. First of all, even if I didn’t have a blog/goodreads/instagram, I always rant to my family members. If I hate a book with a fiery passion, I’ll talk to them about it and steam off. And then there’s the beauty of the Internet: being able to rant to you guys. I rant on my Instagram, my Goodreads, I write a review, and then I find people that also really dislike the book. I mean, that’s what Goodreads is practically made for. So yea. E V E R Y O N E.

6. You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Okay so a lot of people are going to hate me for this, and call me an unemotional weirdo or whatever, but I don’t cry very easily for books/movies. I do tear up sometimes, but I never cried cried. Also, I don’t read that often in public either–or at least I don’t read sad books very much. The only times I can remember that I got emotional was when I was reading in public was The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson. (I got emotional other times too, but not in public)

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re – read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on GoodReads? Cry in frustration?

This happens to me a lot–usually I always forget what happened in the previous novel unless I read it recently, so I’m kinda used to it. (after waiting year after year for each Heroes of Olympus book to come out…) I’m not a big re-reader, so if it is a popular series, like Heroes of Olympus, I will go to a wikia site and read the book summaries there. If not, I will try to find a review that explained what happened, or maybe watch a booktube video about it. If all else fails? Then I’ll just read it without knowing anything. 😀

8. You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

No one really around me wants to read my books specifically, maybe except my sister (which I will allow because she’s my sister). And if they did ask, I’d probably say no and I honestly wouldn’t really care because that person will know that my books are my precious babies I don’t give out to everybody.

9. You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?

I’ll read a book that I feel like reading! This year, thank god, I was never in a big slump, but when I felt one coming, I would just directly pick up a book that interested me. If that doesn’t work, then I’ll pick up a fast, easy read (most likely a contemporary) that will get me back into the mood. If not, I won’t force myself until I get back into reading!

10. There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Well…I only have so much money so I have to make priorities. First of all, I don’t buy books that have ugly covers. I know that sounds so judgy of me, but I don’t want to waste my money on it unless I’m dying for it. (Since I use my public library a lot anyways) Then I narrow down my list of books I want to buy to the ones that I need immediately. If I still want a book, then I get it when I have the money!

11. After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

This really depends on the book. If it is a sequel I’ve been waiting for, I will most likely get to it immediately. Sometimes I buy a book thinking I will read it ASAP, but then it sits on my shelf until I feel like reading it. As I said before, since I’m a mood reader, I don’t force myself to read books I don’t feel like reading even if I buy them.

That’s it for the questions! This was so much fun to do! I’m tagging a few people down below, but if this interests you, then consider yourself tagged and don’t forget to send your link to me if you do it so I can check it out! 🙂 (p.s if you want me to tag you in future posts please let me know because I am looking for more people to tag!)

❤ Britt from Books By Britt

❤ Becca from Becca And Books

❤ Shikha from The Overflowing Shelf

❤ Mara from Across The Books

❤ Fiona from My Cafe Au Livre

❤ Urooj from Urooj Reads

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // email: infinitebooooks@gmail.com

some recent posts:

~ Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge | Review & Discussion

~ Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi | Spoiler-Free Review

~ Secret Life of A Blogger Tag!

~ Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby | Spoiler-free Review

check out some of my other reviews, on my review archives.

One thought on “The Reader Problems Book Tag!

  1. Pingback: The Library Lovers Book Tag | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

