Top Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read | August 4, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. You can learn more about the meme here!

Hey guys! Today’s topic, “Top 10 Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want to Read” really interested me and that’s why I’m prewriting it a few weeks before since I will be on vacation on the August 4th. (Right now it is July 16–you never know if I will have Internet on vacation, so…)

First let’s go into the retelling books I’ve read that are fairytales. Surprisingly, I just realized that I haven’t read many, although I really enjoy them.

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas–if you haven’t yet heard of this novel, I’m honestly really surprised. It is easily one of the most hyped book releases of this year, and for a good reason. ACOTAR, if you didn’t know, is a Beauty and the Beast retelling and its sooooo good! I can fangirl about it all day, as its a favorite of mine, but you can check out my review here.

2. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson–this one is a retelling of Peter Pan, and I also really enjoyed it! It was so heartbreaking, but lovely in many ways. My review is here.

3. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge–I am actually currently reading this title! (Well, by the time you see this I will be done with it but as of July 16, I’m still reading it) This is also a retelling of Beauty and the Beast BUT its mixed with Greek mythology, which, in my opinion, makes it so much more interesting to read! I’m really enjoying it so far.

3. Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge–obviously this is by the same author. I haven’t yet read this one, but it has a beautiful cover and I know its a retelling inspired by Little Red Riding Hood. I can’t wait to read it though!

4. Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge–normally I wouldn’t want to put more than one book for each author, but Rosamund Hodge basically only writes retellings and this upcoming release really interested me so I had to put it in this list. Based on the Goodreads synopsis, it is not a fairytale retelling, but a Romeo and Juliet retelling, which I think makes it all the more intriguing.

5. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh–I haven’t read this one yet, though I really want to and I MIGHT read it by the time this post is published. The biggest reason I want to read this is because it is a 1001 Nights story retelling, and it is supposed to have a lot of Middle Eastern culture in it which makes me so interested, as I am Turkish-American. I hope I will get to this by the time I publish this post!

6. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige–although I’ve heard many mixed reviews about this book, it still sounds like a really good story. Obviously, its a Wizard of Oz retelling, which I love the story of!

7. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer–I think this is an obvious choice for everyone. This series is so well known and loved (which it deserves) and the stories are scifi retellings of fairytales. I haven’t yet read the third one, Cress (but I think I will by the time I upload this) but I CAN’T WAIT, AS I LOVE THIS SERIES! ❀ If only I had the money to buy it right now…

8. Heartless by Marissa Meyer–this upcoming 2016 release is going to be a prequel to Alice in Wonderland, and it sounds freaking awesome! I love Marissa Meyer, so I’m sure this one won’t disappoint.

9. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter–I know that this is supposed to be only a loosely based Alice in Wonderland retelling, but I’m still putting it in this list because I couldn’t find anything else and it has been on my TBR for such a long time.

10. All of Rick Riordan’s works, but specifically The Sword of Summer.–I don’t know if you would consider Rick’s works ‘retelllings’, but I decided that I would include him because

a) who doesn’t love some Greek mythology retellings?

b) They technically are retellings, except more like Greek mythology fan-fiction. πŸ˜‰

Anyways, that’s it for today’s TTT! What are some of YOUR favorite retellings? Please let me know, as I love to read about them!

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // email: infinitebooooks@gmail.com

some recent posts:

~ Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge | Review & Discussion

~ Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi | Spoiler-Free Review

~ Secret Life of A Blogger Tag!

~ Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby | Spoiler-free Review

check out some of my other reviews, on my review archives.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read | August 4, 2015

Leave a Reply

