End of Days by Susan Ee | Review & Discussion

My review for End of Days! You can buy it on Amazon here, and check it out on Goodreads here. Here’s the cover:

Rating is around 3.75 stars.

So. I finally read this, and I really enjoyed it. However, I thought that this last one really paled in comparison to Angelfall and World After, which I rated 5 stars for both of them. I’ll get into more details as to why I was partially disappointed. In general I really did enjoy End of Days, but there were some things that made me love this less than its predecessors.

End of Days picks up directly after World After ends. So if you do not want to be spoiled for the previous two books, please leave now. You may continue reading if you haven’t yet read End of Days, but you have to have read the first two books. Crazy angel Uriel is trying to get more votes to become the Messenger, and Raffe is trying to get his wings back so that the angels accept him once again. In the meantime, Penryn is trying to live as well as deal with her emotions towards Raffe and her sister.

One of the main reasons why I didn’t love this so much is because Penryn was acting like a lovestruck teenage girl. I understand that she can’t be with Raffe and they can’t love each other like they want to, but it just really got on my nerves. I love Angelfall and World After so much because Penryn doesn’t care so much about her appearance and her love life, but in this one, Penryn got whinier and less kickass. While in the previous two books Penryn and Raffe were definitely attracted to each other but romance was not dominant in the story, in this one, I felt like romance conquered Penryn. Throughout all of the book, I was like: Where did the other Penryn go? The awesome, kickass one?.

Of course, Penryn was still pretty kickass, but much, much whinier and I didn’t enjoy reading from her perspective as much as I did before. Don’t get me wrong, believe me, I love romance. And I love Raffe/Penryn moments. But I don’t read these books for the romance. Rather, I read them for the action-packed scenes and the somewhat grotesque yet interesting elements.

Anyways, annoying Penryn aside, I didn’t enjoy this quite as much because I felt like it lacked the elements that the other two books had. For example, it didn’t have plot twists that made Angelfall so intriguing. It didn’t have many action scenes except for the last 70 pages. It also had, in my opinion, less of a plot than the other ones. This doesn’t mean I didn’t like it; I liked it just fine, but my hopes were too high from the other books in this series.

Besides the parts I didn’t enjoy of this book, I still had a really fun time reading it. It was, thank god, just as addicting and I couldn’t put it down. I loved the sarcasm that continued between the characters, and their relationships. (Except Raffe and Penryn’s relationship for most of the book because it was annoying until the end)

My favorite part of the book was probably the last 70 pages, when all of the action really began. I loved how everything wrapped up in the end, although I do wish that Susan kind of spread out the action because I felt like everything happened at once.

So, in general, did I like this book? Yes, a lot. Do I think it could have been better? Yes. Was it satisfying? Yes-and-no; it was satisfying because I loved the ending, but the other parts of the book just weren’t as good. Maybe its because I had really high hopes, or because I read Heir of Fire before this one, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I would have liked.

Do I recommend you pick this installment up? Yes, because I’m a minority in this group that doesn’t feel as satisfied. Read it, and see how you like it yourself! 🙂

/      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // email: infinitebooooks@gmail.com

some recent posts:

~ The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa || Spoiler-free Review & Discussion

~ P.S I Still Love You by Jenny Han || Spoiler-free Review & Discussion

~ Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour || Short Thoughts

~ The Program by Suzanne Young || Review

check out some of my other reviews, on my review archives.

Leave a Reply

