Reading During Ramadan: A Discussion

Hey guys! I’m sorry that I haven’t posted in the past five days. I really have no excuse whatsoever because its my summer break and I have all the time in the world. However, it is also Ramadan, which is the month where muslims fast (or don’t eat) from sunrise to sunset.

If you fast yourself you probably know how hard it is, especially this time of the year living in the US (I can’t eat for over 14 hours). While fasting, I’m always hungry, and besides the constant hunger, my head hurts because I have no protein in my body. Of course, you can probably guess that this makes it much harder to read. Even if I can read, it takes away the enjoyment of the story and I just don’t feel like reading. This is why I read contemporaries because they are much easier to understand and enjoy, rather than a complicated fantasy.

Now, although fasting makes it harder for me to read, it also gives me a lot of time to read. I don’t have a job, so I’m literally home all summer (until I go to Turkey for vacation) and if I feel good, I can read. A lot. During Ramadan, I usually sleep late (around 1:00 in the morning) and wake up late (around 10/11:00) and that also gives me time to read.

So yea. I know this was a weird post, and probably those who don’t fast won’t understand me, but I just wanted to talk about it, haha. 🙂

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // email: infinitebooooks@gmail.com

some recent posts:

~ Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour || Short Thoughts

~ The Program by Suzanne Young || Review

~ Book Nerd Problem #1: Not Being Able To Buy/Read The Sequels

check out some of my other reviews, on my review archives.

Leave a Reply

