P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han | Spoiler-free Review & Discussion

Here’s my review for PSISLY! Please share your thoughts on it too so we can discuss it together. 🙂 You can buy it from Amazon here and read the synopsis on Goodreads here. These are some pictures I took of it and posted on my Instagram:

**4.25 stars.**

Okay, so I honestly don’t know how to rate this book. These books are, as I said in a status update, my guilty pleasure reads. They really don’t have an emotional, deeper meaning, and Lara Jean is so freaking annoying, but I can’t help but love these books.

So if I had to rate these books for a deeper value, I’d give it 3 stars. However, I’m not rating these books for a deeper value, because I don’t read them for a deeper value. I read it for the fluff and the cutesy feelings that come along with it, and essentially, that’s what I’m rating it for.

(This review will be spoiler-free, BUT you have to have read the first book. So I will NOT go into spoilers for this one, but for To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.)

First, I would just like to compare this with the first book. Personally, I enjoyed the first one more. I felt like yes, this sequel was necessary, but it just wasn’t as good as the one before. I just liked TATBILB more because it was original and new compared to my other reads, and it was sweet and fluffy. This one was sweet and fluffy, too. But I think TATBILB was just more special compared to PSISLY. (sorry if that doesn’t make any sense at all)

I also felt like this one was wayyy too dramatic. TATBILB was dramatic too, of course, but in that one the drama I could stand. While in TATBILB the drama was because Kitty sent the letters to Lara Jean’s past lovers and how she dealt with it, in this one I felt that the drama was plainly Lara Jean’s troubles with boys. And that’s not really what I wanted to read.

Finally, the reason why I didn’t enjoy this quite as much as TATBILB was because of the love triangle. Obviously another boy, John, comes back into Lara Jean’s life and she has to choose between him or Peter. I’m okay with love triangles, but I would have liked it better if there wasn’t one. Because of this reason, PSISLY was really angsty, especially the drama between Peter and Lara Jean. (view spoiler)

Now, besides the fact that I thought this was really overly dramatic and angsty, at the same time, I really enjoyed it. It was so cute, and I loved reading scenes with Kitty and the other Song sisters. The best part of this duology is probably the relationships between the Song sisters. They just feel so real,and you just can’t help but love them. (Especially Kitty, though I don’t know if I would be able to deal with her if she was my sister)

Another reason I really loved this book was because how easy it is to read. I flew through it in two/three sittings, and if I had the time, I would have finished it in one sitting. Jenny’s writing style is really cute and you just want to continue reading, even if Lara Jean is killing you with her annoying attitude.

Yea, she still had a very annoying attitude. Like TATBILB, Lara Jean got better by the end, but for the majority of the book she sounded like an 8 year old. This was another reason why I didn’t give this a higher rating. I thought that the character development was less than the first one.

This duology, despite all the negative things I said in this very much scattered review, is probably one of the cutest books I have ever read. I wish that I liked this a bit more, but it was still very much enjoyable although I thought that the ending came too quickly and was rushed. I’d recommend these books if you want a quick, summer read–though don’t pick them up if you want a mature main character without any drama. Because then you’ll be disappointed.

**Note: sorry for this bad review. I’m fasting right now and I’m really hungry and my head hurts, so that’s why my thoughts are all over the place. Thanks for reading!**

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // email: infinitebooooks@gmail.com

some recent posts:

~ Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour || Short Thoughts

~ The Program by Suzanne Young || Review

~ Book Nerd Problem #1: Not Being Able To Buy/Read The Sequels

check out some of my other reviews, on my review archives.

3 thoughts on “P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han | Spoiler-free Review & Discussion

  1. Love this book! Your review says it all! 🙂 I hated the existence of the love triangle too because I liked John’s character and I hate someone likable to be brokenhearted.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i totally agree with you on the guilty pleasure thing! yes, these books don’t have a deeper meaning and i’d originally given it three stars, but after subconsciously obsessing over it for a few days/weeks. i also found this a little over dramatic. wonderful review, silanur!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

