Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson | Spoiler-free Review & Discussion

I just finished Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson, and here’s my review! (Click here for the Goodreads, and here to buy it on Amazon.)

Actual rating: 4.75 lonely, beautiful stars…

*sniffles*
*clears throat*
*wipes a tear rolling down cheek*
*sobs some more*

Well, that made me feel a lot of feels…and I really, really loved it. Essentially, this story is the retelling of Peter Pan, or specifically Tiger Lily. Now before I actually start the review of this book, I’d just like to put it out there that I have not read the real Peter Pan, nor watched the movie. So when I started this story, I had no prior knowledge of the characters.

As I was saying, this is a retelling, when Peter Pan first fell in love with Tiger Lily before Wendy Darling. Tiger Lily is a brave, “not girly” girl. She’s strong, tall, proud, and independent. The tribe she lives with views her as cursed, but she acts like she doesn’t care. This is the story of her and Peter Pan.

Technically, its a retelling, as I said several times. But in my opinion, its a story of loveand how love makes us do things, such things we would not normally do.This tragic story shows how love transforms a human, no matter how strong, into something totally different, and the consequences love brings. It shows how love can make someone desperate enough to do terrible, terrible things. It also shows how love itself is this wicked, twisted thing. Its beautiful, yes it is, but love is also evil.

For me, that is what Tiger Lily meant. To avoid spoilers, obviously I won’t say what happened, but in my opinion, it was all about love. In the end, it made all of the characters do terrible things. But in the end, it was also what saved all of the characters, because that is what love is.

At the moment, I don’t really have something negative to say about this book. The only thing that I can complain about is that there was really no plot, it just progressed, but that’s really fine with me, since it had a deep meaning.

You should read this book because:

a) The overall meaning is beautiful
b) It makes you feel things…things that are so tragic and heart aching
c) It is really easy to read and flows nicely
d) Although I just read it, I feel like it will haunt me for days to come…

I don’t know if this will become a favorite of mine, but books like this, its hard to tell. If it really does stay with me, then I’m sure it will.

One last note, since right now I don’t know what else to write: this book reminded me a lot of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender because that book, as well, is about love and its consequences. So if you enjoyed that, you should really check it out. Or if you enjoyed this one, you should check that out. (I actually enjoyed that one more than this, its a personal favorite of mine, so you really should read it as well)

Now let me go back to hugging my legs to my chest and rocking back and forth…

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // email: infinitebooooks@gmail.com

some recent posts:

~ Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry || Spoiler-free Review

~ The One & The Heir || Spoiler-free Mini Reviews!

~ Books I Hope To Read from May to August

~ Top Ten Tuesday || Top Ten Authors I Would Like To Meet

check out some of my other reviews, on my review archives.

Leave a Reply

