Why We Broke Up || Spoiler-free Review!

This review can also be found on my Goodreads, here. You can also click on the cover to be led to the Goodreads page of the book.

Rating: 3 stars? 2.9 stars? I don’t know. Let’s go with 3.

So before I go into what I liked/didn’t like about this book, I’ll give you a summary of what its about because it’s probably the best part of the book. Basically, this book explains why a couple, Min and Ed broke up.

**this is spoiler-free, so no need to worry**

Yes, that’s what this book is about. Literally. Now the unique thing about this is that its written after the couple broke up, in letter form. So Min, the main character, is writing Ed a huge letter about why they broke up, and she’s giving him a box of all of their memories together and explaining what it had to do with their relationship.

Another unique aspect to this book is that for each item Min gives back to Ed, there is a drawing of the item, and then Min explains what it had to do with the reason they broke up. And that’s what this book is about.

Now don’t get me wrong–I enjoyed this book, but it didn’t live up to what I wanted it to. I was disappointed with it, and here’s why. But first let me tell you what I did like:

*The uniqueness of this book. It was different, I’ll give it that, and I enjoyed it. But it wawsn’t that good to cover up the flaws of this book.

*Ummm….that’s all I can think of. I didn’t necessarily loveanything about this book, and I didn’t necessarily hate anything about this book.

Here’s what I didn’t like:

*The writing style of this book was. SO. DAMN. ANNOYING. Literally, almost all of the sentences were run-on sentences that didn’t even make sense together, and I really disliked it. I would give an example of one sentence, but I don’t have the book with me right now.

*The voice of the main character, Min. I thought Min was immature for her age, and annoying. I couldn’t connect with her, and not being able to relate to a character is really a bad thing for me in a contemporary.

*I never liked Ed. Scratch that, I almost hated him.

Anyways, those are my thoughts on this book. You should still pick it up, as a lot of people enjoyed it, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

I recommend this if you want a light, contemporary read–though it is NOT as good as other contemporaries I’ve read before.

//      //      //       //     //

Airplanes in the Night Sky Regular

my social medias: // goodreads // instagram // email: infinitebooooks@gmail.com

some recent posts:

~ Book Reviewing Slumps

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater || Spoiler-free Review

check out some of my other reviews, on my review archives.

One thought on “Why We Broke Up || Spoiler-free Review!

Leave a Reply

