The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | Spoiler-free review!

**Review can also be found on my Goodreads**

You can click on the cover to be led to the Goodreads page of The Raven Boys.

Actual rating: 4.75 stars! (Something like a rating of…95%)

Wow, this was really, really good, especially towards the end! Although I was quite confused throughout most of the book, and I’m actually still confused right now, I’m really happy I picked this up and I can tell that I am going to love the rest of the series even more.

Though I do think this is the type of book you should go into without knowing so much, so that you can slowly unravel everything that happens, here is a kinda short spoiler-free summary: (Actually, all of this will be spoiler-free, so don’t worry!)

Basically, the main character, Blue lives among her family of psychics, who have special powers they use to tell the future. However, Blue is a non-seer, and she can not see the future. Instead, she is kind of like a battery of energy for the other psychics–when she is around, she makes things clearer (with more energy) for the “real” psychics.

On a specific day every year, Blue and her mother stand in a special place where the soon-to-be-dead walk. And every year, since Blue is a non-seer, she doesn’t see any of the people. But, of course, this year she does see someone–Gansey, a raven boy. Raven boys, or more formally known as “Aglionby boys” go to Aglionby. They’re rich, spoiled, and Blue makes sure to avoid them, but she just can’t seem to avoid Gansey.

And so, as the story progresses on, she meets Gansey’s friends, the other raven boys: Noah, Adam, and Ronan–thus begins the actual story/quest. Since I don’t want to give too much away, you can just go to someone else’s summary and read it, but that’s all I’m going to say for the summary section.

What I liked:

◦The characters–I actually thought that the characters were the best part of the story. They made everything feel real and strange and peculiar, and I felt attached to them although I didn’t even know so much about them. Specifically, I fell in love with poor, tortured Adam, and “smudgy” Noah. My heart aches for them both.

◦The writing style–Stiefvater’s writing, in my opinion, was absolutely beautiful.

◦The uniqueness of the story–I’ve never read anything about ley lines and the other cool stuff in this book. Although it was complicated, I thought it was so different from what I normally read in YA fiction, and I couldn’t help liking it.

◦And pretty much everything about this book!

The only things I didn’t like were:

◦I was pretty damn confused for the first 250 pages. Actually, I’m still confused as to what is really going on and all the terms, but at least now I understand better.

◦It took me a while to get into the story, though after I was able to, I didn’t want to put it down.

Anyways, that’s it for this review! I hope you pick this book up, because it was really good and I can’t wait to get the other two..though I’m pretty bummed that they pushed the release date back to 2016 because I’m pretty sure this is going to be one of my favorite fantasy series in the future!

I recommend this if you enjoyed: Daughter of Smoke & Bone // The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender // And other peculiar-ish books with beautiful writing styles!

Also, here are some pictures I took with The Raven Boys:

DSC02113

FullSizeRender

I took this picture next to that random pencil box because I thought it kind of matched the raven boys–it has a really large assortment of random things in it that I think go with the personalities of Noah, Adam, Ronan, and Gansey–they are all so unique and random and different from each other.

–Silanur ❤

5 thoughts on “The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | Spoiler-free review!

  1. Ive read this book for April and absolutely love it and did a review on it too. Same sentiments, I wasn’t sure about everything at first but then, halfway through gosh I got hooked. And that cliffhanger line from RONAN! WOW! and yes, gosh the writing it was so beautiful. I love how the words when put together depicted a clear image of what Maggie Stiefvater wants to show.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Books With Creep Factors & Why I Love ‘Em | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

