My Thoughts on The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

Yesterday I finished The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender…and wow. I have no words for it. So here are my short thoughts on it and I TOTALLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO YOU! (This is not a review, just some short thoughts)

Book: The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

Author: Leslye Walton

(Originally posted yesterday on Goodreads)

My.
God.

“Love makes us such fools.”

That is the quote which is repeated throughout the story. I finished this a few hours ago, and I still feel haunted by this story. And its funny (well, not really) how accurate this quote is for the story.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender was a powerful, moving story with a lyrical writing style, and I loved it. I’m not sure if it’ll go on my favorites list, but we’ll see if it sticks with me so much at the end of the year.

I recommend this book to everyone–though I have to say, it may not be for everyone. Some scenes in this book, though not overly explicit that might make someone feel uncomfortable, were quite…strange. But don’t let this stop you from reading it. This book is really beautiful.

I’m not going to write a review on this book because I think this is the type of book that you should go into without knowing anything. And plus, if I tried to describe it to you, it would sound really crazy, something like this:

“So…this book is about this girl named Ava who was born with wings and people thought she was an angel and crazy shit went down and I was almost crying and it was a wonderful book full of loves lost, and strange, peculiar things.”

Yea.

5 thoughts on “My Thoughts on The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

  1. Pingback: My FAVORITE Books of 2015! | AloofBooks

  2. Pingback: Things in Books I NEED More Of | AloofBooks

  3. Pingback: Unexpected Favorite Books | AloofBooks

Leave a Reply

