I’ll Give You The Sun | Spoiler-free Review

Rating: something a little less than 4 stars, like a 3.85

Rating: something around 3.5 stars.

Note: Right now I have very mixed feelings towards this book but have decided to give it something close to four stars. While writing this review, I did not mean to offend anyone, and I am just plainly giving my opinions. Another note: I thought this book was WAAYYYY too overhyped. LIKE A LOT.

All my Goodreads friends gave this book 5 stars. ALL of them. (Well, the ones who have read this book) And not only my Goodreads friends–literally everyone across the book world who has read this book loves it. I feel like a minority. Don’t get me wrong–I enjoyed this book. I really did. But I didn’t find it as phenomenal as everyone else. But please read my review; hear me out. (This will be non-spoilery, so I will not spoil anything)

And before I start, I would just like to say that I really, really wanted to love this book as much as everyone else did.

Anyways, first let me tell you what I liked about this book:

-The characters. (Well, I liked how the characters felt so real and how it was like real life. Though I was annoyed at times, I felt like the characters in this book were beautifully written and created.)

-The writing style.

Well, let me admit it: I sometimes liked the writing style, and I sometimes didn’t. I mean, it was pretty, but is it my stupidity, or was it sometimes confusing? Idk.

-And the best part of the book, in my opinion: how everything unraveled slowly so you would have to continue reading to figure out what happened.

-The ending: again, kinda like what I wrote above, I loved how everything was finally understood in the book and the conflicts were resolved. (And you finally got to figure out what happened!) Actually, the ending is what made me give this book almost-four stars. Otherwise I was going to give it 3.5 stars.

That’s pretty much all of what I enjoyed, without spoiling anything. Now, you’re probably wondering: why didn’t I love this as much as you did?

First of all, some scenes in this book made me very uncomfortable. The reason is, as I said, I have never read a book with a main character that is gay/LGBT. I read books with LGBT characters in them (because even though I might not want to, almost all books have LGBT characters) but never as a main character. I’m not spoiling anything, as it says it in the synopsis, but Noah is gay. And this book had a lot to do with his sexuality.

Another part of the book I didn’t like was how it kind of felt insta-lovish. Especially the relationship between Jude and Oscar. I dunno, man. I hate instalove, and though it wasn’t entirely instalove, it sure felt like it at points.

As I said, my thoughts are really jumbled up right now and I don’t want to make this review so long, but the last thing I didn’t enjoy was the length of the chapters. Actually, they weren’t even like chapters. They were, like, half the book. :/

Anyways, I hope I was able to explain myself without offending anyone. Believe me, I really, really wanted to love this book. And I did enjoy it; but not as much as I wanted to. I’m a minority of the people who didn’t love this book so much. But I will state my own opinions, and those are my opinions.

Go and read this book. See how you like it. It just kinda wasn’t my cup of tea

2 thoughts on “I’ll Give You The Sun | Spoiler-free Review

  1. I don’t think any one should bash you for your beliefs. They are your beliefs and opinions nothing wrong with that. I still loved how you broke down what you loved about the book even though it wasn’t something you agreed with. I really enjoyed reading your opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! Its nice to know that you support my beliefs, especially after how many people unfollowed me on my Instagram when I told them my opinions of this book.

      Much love,
      –Silanur

      Like

Leave a Reply

